Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 34

Thread: Chainloading TrueCrypt with GRUB2

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Beans
    18

    Chainloading TrueCrypt with GRUB2

    I have my System encrypted according to this guide

    Now I have switched to GRUB2 and tried to adapt the code to chainload the TrueCrypt bootloader

    Code:
    menuentry "Windows Vista" {
           insmod chain
        set root=(hd0,1)
        chainloader (hd0,2)/truecrypt.mbr
    }
    When I choose the Windows Vista entry it loads the TrueCrypt bootloader, but says it is damaged. Could that really be the case or is that because my code is flawed?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Beans
    2

    Re: Chainloading TrueCrypt with GRUB2

    I'm having the exact same issue, so any guidance on how to resolve would be great. I'm "working around" the issue by installing grub2 into the boot partition, and escaping the truecrypt loader, which then boots grub2 menu. However when installing grub2 it does warn that installing in a partition is not recommended

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Beans
    18

    Question Re: Chainloading TrueCrypt with GRUB2

    Since 9.10 is out now and grub2 is the standard...well I'm still having the same issue. Does anybody have an idea?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Beans
    15

    Re: Chainloading TrueCrypt with GRUB2

    Nothing to add except "me too". Just upgraded to 9.10 and would like to get my Truecrypt encrypted Windows partition back. Not a major problem as I don't boot into it very much any more, and I can still mount it with Truecrypt from within 9.10 for the files if I need them, but it would be nice to have it working again.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Beans
    12

    Re: Chainloading TrueCrypt with GRUB2

    Unfortunately I have to use Win (at least its 7) and Im a bit annoyed with the fact that clean installations of 9.10 (at least the alternate version) dont bother asking where I want GRUB2 to be installed, and instead go on and rewrite the MBR.

    What I wanted to do was install GRUB onto the /boot partition (as generally advised in Ubuntu + truecrypt tutorials) and thus chaiload GRUB through the TrueCrypt loader by pressing ESC.
    GRUB2 now just shows a brief "GRUB loading" message and then just proceeds to load ubuntu. When pressing shift to see the options of the menu windows is not even mentioned, and using the grub-update in the terminal fails to find any other entries other than ubuntu and the memtest.

    My plan of action is now to recover the truecrypt loader through the recovery CD I made, and then manually reinstall GRUB2 on to /boot. Luckily Ive got the CD though, as I would be in deep sh*t.

    A matter of future consern maybe? Im sure there will be people not as lucky as me with a damaged truecrypt recovery CD or some similar situation :/

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    London, England
    Beans
    5,520
    Distro
    Xubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

    Re: Chainloading TrueCrypt with GRUB2

    It looks odd to me that the root is (hd0,1) but you are then trying to chainload (hd0,2). You do realise that grub2 numbers partitions from 1 upwards instead of the 0 upwards that grub1 used? So try using root (hd0,2) or chainload (hd0,1).

    Of course, I'm guessing because I've never looked at how truecrypt boots.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Beans
    4

    Re: Chainloading TrueCrypt with GRUB2

    I have
    Code:
    menuentry "vista (tc)" {
    set root=(hd0,2)
    chainloader (hd0,3)/truecrypt.mbr
    boot
    }
    and I get the same "truecrypt bootloader is damaged" message. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

    <ubuntu9.10rant>
    Why on _earth_ do they let out a new version of ubuntu out with a beta-version bootloader and known broken 3G modem support?

    The least I expect is that things that worked the previous version still will...
    </ubuntu9.10rant>

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Beans
    4

    Re: Chainloading TrueCrypt with GRUB2

    In my search for a booting goodness i have stumbled upon
    http://www.keneks.net/blog/2009/05/h...ub-2-parttool/
    From link:
    Code:
    #make a partition active ("makeactive" in grub legacy)
    parttool (hd0,4) boot+
    Not that it helped me, but it may be a step in the right direction

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    over there
    Beans
    2,430
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: Chainloading TrueCrypt with GRUB2

    Quote Originally Posted by iarkin View Post
    <ubuntu9.10rant>
    Why on _earth_ do they let out a new version of ubuntu out with a beta-version bootloader and known broken 3G modem support?
    Can someone point me in the direction of a full description of this "broken 3G modem support"? I've only used Karmic in live cd session so far, and my Huawei E160X dongle-modem works fine. But if there's any likelihood that it may stop working, I don't really want to install Karmic until it's fixed.

    So: link, anyone?
    "All people are scum. No matter what they look like." ~ Spider Jerusalem, Transmetropolitan #4
    blog


  10. #10
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Beans
    4

    Re: Chainloading TrueCrypt with GRUB2

    Quote Originally Posted by t0p View Post
    Can someone point me in the direction of a full description of this "broken 3G modem support"? I've only used Karmic in live cd session so far, and my Huawei E160X dongle-modem works fine. But if there's any likelihood that it may stop working, I don't really want to install Karmic until it's fixed.

    So: link, anyone?
    https://bugs.launchpad.net/ubuntu/+s...ux/+bug/446146

    But Kernel 2.6.32-rc5 works, so that's what i'm using.

    http://kernel.ubuntu.com/~kernel-ppa...e/v2.6.32-rc5/
    Last edited by iarkin; November 4th, 2009 at 02:34 PM.

Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •