Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: Invalid Environment Block solution

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Long Beach, Outer Space
    Beans
    18
    Distro
    Ubuntu 7.10 Gutsy Gibbon

    Invalid Environment Block solution

    A while back my grub install started throwing up an invalid environment block error. It took me a while to find the fix, so I figured that someone else might want it.

    To boot into linux in the first place, push e in the grub menu, delete the save_env recordfail line, and press ctrl+x to boot.

    Next, run these commands:

    cd /boot/grub
    rm grubenv
    grub-editenv grubenv create
    grub-editenv grubenv set default=0
    grub-editenv grubenv list
    default=0

    This should give you a bootable system. Found the solution here: https://bugs.launchpad.net/ubuntu/+s...b2/+bug/439784. Hope this helps someone!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Beans
    209

    Re: Invalid Environment Block solution

    Thanks, you saved my day.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Southern Indiana, USA
    Beans
    1,644
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: Invalid Environment Block solution

    This is also found here:

    http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.p...ironment+block

    OP, mark thread as "Solved" and post additional info there.

    Thanks!
    Ubuntu 12.04 LTS (& Windows XP-SP3 for Flight Sim only) - (1) 3.4 G/3G RAM/NVIDIA GT630, 2048VRAM/SB AudigySE Audio (2) 2.9 G/2G RAM/NVIDIA 9500GT,1024VRAM/SB Audio (3) 2.3 G/2G RAM/NVIDIA FX1500M,256VRAM/Sigmatel Audio

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Beans
    1

    Re: Invalid Environment Block solution

    Quote Originally Posted by Madhatter14641 View Post
    A while back my grub install started throwing up an invalid environment block error. It took me a while to find the fix, so I figured that someone else might want it.

    To boot into linux in the first place, push e in the grub menu, delete the save_env recordfail line, and press ctrl+x to boot....
    Hello, I press "e" to turn on the PC, but nothing happens? immediately after it shows me the message:

    error invalid environment block
    Failed to boot default entries.
    Press any key to continue...

    any recommendation, I am doing wrong?

    thanks

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Beans
    22

    Re: Invalid Environment Block solution

    Thanks, this solved my issue. Had this issue with the karmic server daily build, hope its fixed before release since boot problems aren't that sexy.

    For those not able to reach the grub menu: i tried pressing and holding shift, which seemed to work cause i got the GRUB menu which i didn't got before. Then its possible to press "e" and follow the instrucitons above.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Birmingham UK
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: Invalid Environment Block solution

    This worked, thanks.

    Anyone any ideas on why this cropped up? It happened just after an update last weekend (today is the first opportunity I've had to work with the alpha box)

  7. #7
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    UK near Bedford
    Beans
    3,481
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: Invalid Environment Block solution

    Rocksas - you need to get to the Grub menu first before push e.

    To get to the Grub menu hit escape as soon as the Grub prompt appears.
    PC

    To get a terminal command to put its output into a file use this format
    {terminal command} > {filename}

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Beans
    5
    Distro
    Ubuntu Karmic Koala (testing)

    Re: Invalid Environment Block solution

    Quote Originally Posted by rocksas View Post
    ...but nothing happens?
    Hi rocksas,
    use the live-cd of your karmic-installation and boot from it. Mount your harddrive, type in the terminal "sudo su" and follow the commands the first poster gave us.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Southern California, USA
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: Invalid Environment Block solution

    Quote Originally Posted by Peter09 View Post
    Rocksas - you need to get to the Grub menu first before push e.

    To get to the Grub menu hit escape as soon as the Grub prompt appears.
    If its grub2 we're talking about, I think now its the shift key.
    boot_info_script | AMD64 Athlon X2 Dual-Core - nVidia Geforce 6150 SE - 4GB DDR3

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Cluj-Napoca, Romania
    Beans
    35
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: Invalid Environment Block solution

    Quote Originally Posted by keithpeter View Post
    Anyone any ideas on why this cropped up?
    Hi, it just happened to me today.

    At one time as my system was starting up, the screen went black and than back. A window appeared but it was frozen, not showing any text or buttons, just a blank sheet. I think it wanted to be an error reporting window, but than my whole system gut stuck. As I forced restart pushing the restart button this error came up.

    For me it`s not associated with any updates, I think.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •