Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: How to change TTY resolution?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.04 Lucid Lynx

    How to change TTY resolution?

    I'd like to change the TTYs on CTRL-ALT-F[1-6] so they have a higher resolution. The instructions at https://help.ubuntu.com/community/ChangeTTYResolution don't show anything for my screen resolution:
    Code:
    mikelifeguard@mikelifeguard-laptop:~$ xdpyinfo | grep dimensions
      dimensions:    1280x800 pixels (330x210 millimeters)
    I guess that will also change the resolution for the boot messages, which will be nice too.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Beans
    4,715
    Distro
    Ubuntu 9.10 Karmic Koala

    Re: How to change TTY resolution?

    Have you tried vga=795 or vga=792?

    Also would setting the font to something smaller be of interest to you?
    Last edited by unutbu; June 13th, 2009 at 02:55 AM.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Beans
    20

    Re: How to change TTY resolution?

    1280x800 sounds like a laptop resolution. If you have intel graphics, try "vga=864". That's the 1280x800 vga code for intel graphics. It's not standard so you probably will have a hard time finding it anywhere else

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.04 Lucid Lynx

    Re: How to change TTY resolution?

    Quote Originally Posted by tomd123 View Post
    1280x800 sounds like a laptop resolution. If you have intel graphics, try "vga=864". That's the 1280x800 vga code for intel graphics. It's not standard so you probably will have a hard time finding it anywhere else
    Yes, it's a laptop & yes it is intel graphics. I'll give 864 a try on my next boot...

    Thanks!

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Beans
    1,042
    Distro
    Ubuntu Karmic Koala (testing)

    Re: How to change TTY resolution?

    vga=864 worked like a charm for me on my Toshiba Satellite.

    Don't need it anymore, though-- I compiled my own kernel, and now I use kernel mode-setting! It auto-magically detects the highest resolution. Also, switching between the virtual terminals (that's what they're called) is instantaneous.
    He that would make his own liberty secure must guard even his enemy from oppression; for if he violates this duty he establishes a precedent that will reach to himself.
    -Thomas Paine

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.04 Lucid Lynx

    Re: How to change terminal resolution?

    Quote Originally Posted by MaxIBoy View Post
    vga=864 worked like a charm for me on my Toshiba Satellite.
    For me, vga=864 makes the terminals into blank black screens, and the boot messages disappear (despite the 'quiet' option being removed).

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •