Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Can't connect to an open network

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Beans
    85

    Can't connect to an open network

    I have an open network at my apartment complex (provided by the landlord and we can use it), but I can't connect to it through NM or WICD. Any idea how I go about diagnosing and correcting this? I'm using 8.04 BTW

    Edit: I believe obtaining the IP addy is the prob

    Thanks
    Last edited by skoalman88; February 22nd, 2009 at 06:01 AM.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Maine, USA
    Beans
    25
    Distro
    Fluxbuntu

    Re: Can't connect to an open network

    To trouble shoot if the issue is with the wireless card or with the wireless application, try opening a terminal (Apps->Accessories->Terminal)
    and using the following:

    ifconfig - this will list your network connections and information about them

    iwconfig - this will list your wireless information

    This way you can see if you have a wireless card showing up. From there we can assist you in connecting.
    Peace is a lie, there is only passion; through passion i gain strength
    through strength i gain power; through power i gain victory
    through victory my chains are broken; the force will free me
    -creed of the sith

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Beans
    85

    Re: Can't connect to an open network

    I am able to connect to my personal network. I thought there may be an issue with the router since I can't connect to it in XP, OpenSuse, or Ubuntu, but I can connect to it on a vista machine. I should note that the vista machine is using a different wireless than the Ubuntu/OS/XP.
    Last edited by skoalman88; February 22nd, 2009 at 07:14 AM.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Beans
    5,549

    Re: Can't connect to an open network

    go to the terminal and post output of the following
    1)sudo iwlist scanning
    2)iwconfig
    3)ifconfig

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Beans
    85

    Re: Can't connect to an open network

    Uploaded. Thanks! BTW I have updated to 8.10 and still have the problem.
    Attached Files Attached Files
    Last edited by skoalman88; March 5th, 2009 at 12:52 AM.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Maine, USA
    Beans
    25
    Distro
    Fluxbuntu

    Re: Can't connect to an open network

    If your (working) vista is using a different wireless than the three (non-working) others, it might be safe to assume that the issue is not with the OS (since you have 2 diff versions on Linux + Win XP). I would try to use the same hardware that you have working in vista with a version of linux to see if it works correctly. If it does then the issue is with the hardware (obviously) and if not then the answer is less clear. This all Assumes that I understand your setup (that being Vista on 1 box, using 1 wireless card and the other OS's on the other using the same non-working wireless)
    Peace is a lie, there is only passion; through passion i gain strength
    through strength i gain power; through power i gain victory
    through victory my chains are broken; the force will free me
    -creed of the sith

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Beans
    85

    Re: Can't connect to an open network

    I can now connect to the wireless in question with 8.10. Please mark as solved. Thanks to those above for their input

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Scotlands biggest region
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.10 Maverick Meerkat

    Re: Can't connect to an open network

    I can now connect to the wireless in question with 8.10. Please mark as solved. Thanks to those above for their input
    So what was wrong then?....it might help others with a similar issue
    http://ubuntuclips.org/videos/4

    For the lazy readers

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Beans
    85

    Re: Can't connect to an open network

    I have no idea what was wrong. I switched to 8.10 based on the sticky list of cards and had no problem.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Beans
    5,549

    Re: Can't connect to an open network

    just saw your outputs.. you seem to be connected to linksys. please post your ifconfig output.. you posted iwconfig output 2 times..

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •