Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: [SOLVED] I could not boot the windows vista

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Back to Chennai, India
    Beans
    638
    Distro
    Ubuntu 11.10 Oneiric Ocelot

    [SOLVED] I could not boot the windows vista

    hi
    i lost the windows vista. i tried with this thread .
    http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.p...ht=boot+loader
    but i have not downloaded the windows vista recovery disk.
    by following i am posting the harddisk details
    gurudheva@gurudheva-laptop:~$ sudo fdisk -l

    Disk /dev/sda: 320.0 GB, 320072933376 bytes
    255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 38913 cylinders
    Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes
    Disk identifier: 0x6cabdd5d

    Device Boot Start End Blocks Id System
    /dev/sda1 * 1 10363 83240766 7 HPFS/NTFS
    /dev/sda2 10364 38913 229327875 f W95 Ext'd (LBA)
    /dev/sda5 10364 15554 41689641 7 HPFS/NTFS
    /dev/sda6 15554 20726 41547776 7 HPFS/NTFS
    /dev/sda7 20727 29819 73039491 7 HPFS/NTFS
    /dev/sda8 29820 34373 36577760 7 HPFS/NTFS
    /dev/sda9 37698 38913 9767488+ 82 Linux swap / Solaris
    /dev/sda10 34374 37697 26699998+ 83 Linux

    Partition table entries are not in disk order
    gurudheva@gurudheva-laptop:~$ 'http://home.comcast.net/~ubuntu_grub/boot_info_script.txt' && sudo bash boot_info_script.txt
    bash: http://home.comcast.net/~ubuntu_grub...fo_script.txt: No such file or directory
    gurudheva@gurudheva-laptop:~$ bootrec /fixboot
    bash: bootrec: command not found


    could you please help me. while i select the windows vista i got this error > gurb error 1 or 2 i could not remember. please help me.
    where there is a will there is a way.Acer 5530,AMD64 bit,4GB,HDD-320GB,Graphics-ATI HD3200,Screen-15.4,DVD +-RW DL,webcam:Built-in,OS:Windows 7, Ubuntu 11.10 Weight:-2,9 kg(too Heavy )LOOSUPAYA twitterFollow me

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Cullman, AL
    Beans
    652
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.10 Quantal Quetzal

    Re: I could not boot the windows vista

    Could you post the contents of /boot/grub/menu.lst
    Guide to forum text formatting code. Please use them | Use descriptive thread titles.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Beans
    406
    Distro
    Ubuntu 8.10 Intrepid Ibex

    Re: I could not boot the windows vista

    This will give us a clearer picture.
    copy and paste this a terminal and it will create a results.txt open it and copy and paste the output.

    Code:
    cd ~/Desktop && wget 'http://home.comcast.net/~ubuntu_grub/boot_info_script.txt' && sudo bash boot_info_script.txt
    Last edited by melojo; January 9th, 2009 at 05:23 AM.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Back to Chennai, India
    Beans
    638
    Distro
    Ubuntu 11.10 Oneiric Ocelot

    Smile Re: I could not boot the windows vista

    hi
    today morning i searched the forum and found this thread.
    http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.p...a+boot+problem

    I followed and able to go up to the ubuntu
    but i could not recover the windows booting. lot of installation of files are there in that one.
    the mistake what i did was yesterday i bought 1TB hard disk and i copied all data from drives expect windows c: drive and ubuntu (since windows will not show it off) so there is no care.

    Before installing ubuntu as a separate i installed ubuntu from windows and it was in E:- partition. The ubuntu which was there was done fine.

    After that i thought i will have an independent ubuntu not in windows partition since if some one uses my computer they may delete the file. so I have installed the ubuntu again from booting and it went file.

    This was how it was working.
    if you boot it show all four kernel as well as recover-(i used this ubuntu)
    if you select the windows/other OS it will go and again it will boot the grub again and we have to select the ubuntu.
    so i have choice to use both. and both went fine.
    Since i was using the 1st ubuntu i have deleted the windows installed ubuntu. but the grub was still there and i use to login to windows and working fine.


    The real tragedy came yesterday night. i have moved all the data from e:- already i have formatted the disk and i was using it for some movies and data's. to External hard disk.

    once i restarted i could not get both windows or ubuntu.

    http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.p...a+boot+problem
    using the above thread i have downloaded and burn the both vista recover CD as well as grub one also.

    After that I load the Live CD and i followed the steps from this thread and i could able to get ubuntu back but still the windows is in vain. Tomorrow morning before 4.30( that is 3.30 GMT) i have fix it. since I use windows for the Trading of share in online. otherwise it will be very painful for me to reinstall and do the things. I even did not have the backup of vista.

    please help me fast.

    Now i can able to see only ubuntu.
    i can see all the four kernel and recover
    i could see the windows loader but it says it got failed.
    i checked with the vista recovery disk, it finds the windows and tells if you have removed your music, or some thing while restarting. please contact administrator for help. nothing more.
    Last edited by halovivek; January 8th, 2009 at 09:14 AM. Reason: spelling mistake
    where there is a will there is a way.Acer 5530,AMD64 bit,4GB,HDD-320GB,Graphics-ATI HD3200,Screen-15.4,DVD +-RW DL,webcam:Built-in,OS:Windows 7, Ubuntu 11.10 Weight:-2,9 kg(too Heavy )LOOSUPAYA twitterFollow me

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Beans
    406
    Distro
    Ubuntu 8.10 Intrepid Ibex

    Re: I could not boot the windows vista

    Worry about getting windows back so you can use if for work.
    Go to the link below and download the .iso and burn it to a cd. You will have an option to fix windows.

    http://www.supergrubdisk.org/

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Beans
    10

    Re: I could not boot the windows vista

    if booting into windows vista is urgent then u can give it a try..
    though i m not sure wether its gonna work for u or not but it definitely worked for me..
    on booting go to the grub commanline by pressing c
    u will have something like this:
    grub>
    now execute the following steps
    1.rootnoverify (hda,b)
    where "a" is the physical hard disk number.if u r using one hard disk it should be 0(in my case it is) or u can press tab to check.
    "b" is the partition number in which vista is installed.u can press tab to check the ntfs filesystems.
    2.makeactive
    3.chainloader +1
    4.boot
    i hope u can boot into vista.give it a try.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Back to Chennai, India
    Beans
    638
    Distro
    Ubuntu 11.10 Oneiric Ocelot

    Smile Re: I could not boot the windows vista

    Quote Originally Posted by melojo View Post
    Worry about getting windows back so you can use if for work.
    Go to the link below and download the .iso and burn it to a cd. You will have an option to fix windows.

    http://www.supergrubdisk.org/
    Already i have downloaded and having the copy of this one.
    how to continue more?
    where there is a will there is a way.Acer 5530,AMD64 bit,4GB,HDD-320GB,Graphics-ATI HD3200,Screen-15.4,DVD +-RW DL,webcam:Built-in,OS:Windows 7, Ubuntu 11.10 Weight:-2,9 kg(too Heavy )LOOSUPAYA twitterFollow me

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Back to Chennai, India
    Beans
    638
    Distro
    Ubuntu 11.10 Oneiric Ocelot

    Smile Re: I could not boot the windows vista

    Quote Originally Posted by lgeek View Post
    if booting into windows vista is urgent then u can give it a try..
    though i m not sure wether its gonna work for u or not but it definitely worked for me..
    on booting go to the grub commanline by pressing c
    u will have something like this:
    grub>
    now execute the following steps
    1.rootnoverify (hda,b)
    where "a" is the physical hard disk number.if u r using one hard disk it should be 0(in my case it is) or u can press tab to check.
    "b" is the partition number in which vista is installed.u can press tab to check the ntfs filesystems.
    2.makeactive
    3.chainloader +1
    4.boot
    i hope u can boot into vista.give it a try.

    ok i will try this and let you know
    where there is a will there is a way.Acer 5530,AMD64 bit,4GB,HDD-320GB,Graphics-ATI HD3200,Screen-15.4,DVD +-RW DL,webcam:Built-in,OS:Windows 7, Ubuntu 11.10 Weight:-2,9 kg(too Heavy )LOOSUPAYA twitterFollow me

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    California, USA
    Beans
    8,111

    Re: I could not boot the windows vista

    Halovivek, if you can run the script that melojo linked to, that would give us a much clearer picture of your setup and what your Ubuntu/Windows booting problem might be. How about trying again:
    Code:
    cd ~/Desktop && wget 'http://home.comcast.net/~ubuntu_grub/boot_info_script.txt' && sudo bash boot_info_script.txt
    That will create a "RESULTS.txt" file in the same directory from where the script is run, namely your desktop; please copy/paste the contents of that file to your next post, highlight the copied text, and click the pound sign # graphic in the Ubuntu forum message box so that the text will get "code" tags put around it. If you don't have internet connectivity when using the Live CD, you can instead right-click this link to the script in your web browser, choose "Save link as...", save the "boot_info_script.txt" file, transfer it to your Ubuntu desktop on the Live CD via USB stick, floppy, or however you want to do it, and then do the following in a terminal:
    Code:
    sudo bash ~/Desktop/boot_info_script.txt
    The results of that script will help clarify your setup and hopefully what your problem might be.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Back to Chennai, India
    Beans
    638
    Distro
    Ubuntu 11.10 Oneiric Ocelot

    Smile Re: I could not boot the windows vista

    Hi
    i have solved finally. i really you all the people who helped me to do so. i got back my vista operating system as well as the ubuntu.
    i have followed the thread and i have solved it.
    Thanks you so much all
    where there is a will there is a way.Acer 5530,AMD64 bit,4GB,HDD-320GB,Graphics-ATI HD3200,Screen-15.4,DVD +-RW DL,webcam:Built-in,OS:Windows 7, Ubuntu 11.10 Weight:-2,9 kg(too Heavy )LOOSUPAYA twitterFollow me

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •