Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: [SOLVED] Cannot mount volume.

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Beans
    4

    [SOLVED] Cannot mount volume.

    Dear all,

    I'm a new user of ubuntu 8.10 and I want to go on my exeternal harddisk to get my files. This harddisk I had under Windows XP - ntfs formated. The following error message appears:

    DBus error org.freedesktop.DBus.Error.NoReply: Did not receive a reply. Possible causes include: the remote application did not send a reply, the message bus security policy blocked the reply, the reply timeout expired, or the network connection was broken.

    Can somebody help me to solve my problem?

    regards
    Joner1

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Kalamazoo
    Beans
    23
    Distro
    Ubuntu 8.04 Hardy Heron

    Re: Cannot mount volume.

    Plug it back in to windows xp or vista and do a safe hardware eject (right click the taskbar icon that appears when you connect the drive, then select safely remove hardware(or device)), this should allow you to mount the volume.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Beans
    15

    Re: Cannot mount volume.

    I had the same problem!!! God I searched for ways to mount the damn thing and now it works!! Thanks..!

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Kalamazoo
    Beans
    23
    Distro
    Ubuntu 8.04 Hardy Heron

    Re: Cannot mount volume.

    Also, if you are trying to mount an internal disk that is NTFS or FAT that has a windows OS you will not be able to mount it if you don't do a proper shut down(start menu > shut down, don't hold the power button).

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Beans
    6
    Distro
    Ubuntu 8.04 Hardy Heron

    Re: Cannot mount volume.

    Is there any possible way around this? I am currently trying to help someone I have converted from Vista to Ubuntu and they have installed it over the Windows partition, and now cannot access their NTFS drive with their documents and backups on. Can you not force mount or something in partition manager (gparted)?

    OK, good... found the answer. Edit /etc/fstab to force mount it @ boot.
    Last edited by hoggson; November 13th, 2008 at 12:58 PM. Reason: Problem Solved :)

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Kalamazoo
    Beans
    23
    Distro
    Ubuntu 8.04 Hardy Heron

    Re: Cannot mount volume.

    To my knowledge there is no way around it, however you can do this at any windows machine (that is NT, Xp, or Vista) so you can do it at school or a library, all you have to do is plug it in, windows will automatically detect it, and safe remove.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Beans
    4

    Re: Cannot mount volume.

    Quote Originally Posted by Airfoot View Post
    Plug it back in to windows xp or vista and do a safe hardware eject (right click the taskbar icon that appears when you connect the drive, then select safely remove hardware(or device)), this should allow you to mount the volume.
    Thanks a lot - great it works now. I mounted XP and safely removed it. Now it's now problem anymore and I'm happy!!!

    thanks
    Joner1

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •