Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: 8.04 - No wireless with BCM4310 although seemingly installed

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Beans
    44

    Question 8.04 - No wireless with BCM4310 although seemingly installed

    I have a Broadcom 4310 wireless card. I upgraded from Ubuntu 7.10 to Hardy, along with an installed ndiswrapper 1.52 and the Dell driver 174291 for my card model.
    In the first two days I had wireless, although I had to disable and then enable networking every time I logged in. I was also getting some errors after shutting down relating to my network. For some time though, and I don't know what I have changed, I have no wireless under ubuntu at all.

    I am able to see wireless access points, choose the one I want but I don't seem to acquire it as an access point, as I see if I run iwconfig. This is while I keep my wireless adapter in 'roaming mode'. If I disable roaming mode and set my ip address, mask and gateway manually, then I see this output for iwconfig:
    Code:
    maramot@ubuntu:~$ iwconfig
    lo        no wireless extensions.
    
    eth0      no wireless extensions.
    
    wlan0     IEEE 802.11g  ESSID:"Aiport Home"  
              Mode:Managed  Frequency:2.412 GHz  Access Point: 00:1E:52:6C:94:E9   
              Bit Rate=54 Mb/s   Tx-Power:32 dBm   
              RTS thr:2347 B   Fragment thr:2346 B   
              Power Management:off
              Link Quality:68/100  Signal level:-52 dBm  Noise level:-96 dBm
              Rx invalid nwid:0  Rx invalid crypt:0  Rx invalid frag:0
              Tx excessive retries:0  Invalid misc:0   Missed beacon:0
    But I am unable to even ping my router:
    Code:
    maramot@ubuntu:~$ ping 10.0.1.1
    PING 10.0.1.1 (10.0.1.1) 56(84) bytes of data.
    From 10.0.1.7 icmp_seq=1 Destination Host Unreachable
    From 10.0.1.7 icmp_seq=2 Destination Host Unreachable
    From 10.0.1.7 icmp_seq=3 Destination Host Unreachable
    From 10.0.1.7 icmp_seq=4 Destination Host Unreachable
    From 10.0.1.7 icmp_seq=5 Destination Host Unreachable
    From 10.0.1.7 icmp_seq=6 Destination Host Unreachable
    From 10.0.1.7 icmp_seq=7 Destination Host Unreachable
    From 10.0.1.7 icmp_seq=8 Destination Host Unreachable
    From 10.0.1.7 icmp_seq=9 Destination Host Unreachable
    From 10.0.1.7 icmp_seq=10 Destination Host Unreachable
    From 10.0.1.7 icmp_seq=11 Destination Host Unreachable
    From 10.0.1.7 icmp_seq=12 Destination Host Unreachable
    
    --- 10.0.1.1 ping statistics ---
    13 packets transmitted, 0 received, +12 errors, 100% packet loss, time 12031ms, pipe 3
    I have no idea what could be wrong here. Please help.

    Edit: the router is fully accessible wirelessly, both by my computer, when I restart under windows (like now) and from the other computer I have at home

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Beans
    44

    Re: 8.04 - No wireless with BCM4310 although seemingly installed

    Bump.

    If this is something simple and long solved, just give me the link. I wouldn't post it if I hadn't already looked and tried and failed with offered solutions.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Beans
    44

    Re: 8.04 - No wireless with BCM4310 although seemingly installed

    I've tried the howto for manual network configuration and the changes described here-- http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=607410 But still no help. I've posted my comments in that thread.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Chennai, India
    Beans
    3,786
    Distro
    Ubuntu 13.10 Saucy Salamander

    Re: 8.04 - No wireless with BCM4310 although seemingly installed

    Quote Originally Posted by maramot View Post
    I have no idea what could be wrong here. Please help.
    Edit: the router is fully accessible wirelessly, both by my computer, when I restart under windows (like now) and from the other computer I have at home
    Enable roaming mode; wait a few seconds, then select your wireless network (is it non-secure?).

    Then, please open a terminal, and paste the output of
    Code:
    ifconfig
    , where we can see what IP has been assigned (if at all) to your wireless.
    Cheers,PRShah
    Make your own: Ubuntu, Kubuntu, Xubuntu, Mythbuntu All-in-One Live DVD
    "I never make mistakes; I thought I did, once.. but I was wrong."

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Beans
    44

    Re: 8.04 - No wireless with BCM4310 although seemingly installed

    Well, it never acquires a network key, so the output is:

    Code:
    maramot@ubuntu:~$ ifconfig
    eth0      Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 00:1d:09:b2:5c:ea  
              UP BROADCAST MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
              RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
              TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
              collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000 
              RX bytes:0 (0.0 B)  TX bytes:0 (0.0 B)
              Interrupt:17 
    
    eth0:avahi Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 00:1d:09:b2:5c:ea  
              inet addr:169.254.8.72  Bcast:169.254.255.255  Mask:255.255.0.0
              UP BROADCAST MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
              Interrupt:17 
    
    lo        Link encap:Local Loopback  
              inet addr:127.0.0.1  Mask:255.0.0.0
              inet6 addr: ::1/128 Scope:Host
              UP LOOPBACK RUNNING  MTU:16436  Metric:1
              RX packets:1592 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
              TX packets:1592 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
              collisions:0 txqueuelen:0 
              RX bytes:79770 (77.9 KB)  TX bytes:79770 (77.9 KB)
    
    wlan0     Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 00:16:44:a8:1e:4a  
              UP BROADCAST MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
              RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
              TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
              collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000 
              RX bytes:0 (0.0 B)  TX bytes:0 (0.0 B)
              Interrupt:17 Memory:f9ffc000-fa000000

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Beans
    140

    Re: 8.04 - No wireless with BCM4310 although seemingly installed

    http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=794816&page=2

    just got my 4310 to work. using wicd as network manager. hope something there helps.

    note: there is a link for a hack in that thread that was the only thing that finally got it to recognize the hardware as present. after that i had problems actually connecting to a network using network-manager app and wifi-radar, however i got wicd and it was all point and click connection. now it automatically connects each logon.
    Last edited by SurferGTO; May 16th, 2008 at 10:04 PM.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Beans
    1

    Re: 8.04 - No wireless with BCM4310 although seemingly installed

    Solution to Destination Host Unreachable after hot plugging wireless card or suspending computer or for other reasons.
    I downloaded the wicd program and I can not tell if that was of any help or not. It does not appear to have been and does not appear to be related to this solution.

    Go to System > administration > Network. Find your wireless connection (ethX) and uncheck it. Then check it again. If you are having whatever problem that I was having - or maybe another problem that caused the same symptoms, it will go away, and your wireless connection will be fully restored and working.

    By the way, this assumes that all or most other indicators of connectivity like wlassistant, iwlist ethX scan, and / or iwconfig ethX showed a working connection. I guess that this indicates a bug in the Network Settings program.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Chennai, India
    Beans
    3,786
    Distro
    Ubuntu 13.10 Saucy Salamander

    Re: 8.04 - No wireless with BCM4310 although seemingly installed

    Quote Originally Posted by DougN1 View Post
    Go to System > administration > Network. Find your wireless connection (ethX) and uncheck it. Then check it again.
    Or you can just open a terminal and give the command
    Code:
    sudo /etc/init.d/networking restart
    Cheers,PRShah
    Make your own: Ubuntu, Kubuntu, Xubuntu, Mythbuntu All-in-One Live DVD
    "I never make mistakes; I thought I did, once.. but I was wrong."

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Beans
    44

    Re: 8.04 - No wireless with BCM4310 although seemingly installed

    Apparently I can't discover any networks after I restart the wlan0
    Code:
    maramot@ubuntu:~$ sudo /etc/init.d/networking restart
    [sudo] password for maramot: 
     * Reconfiguring network interfaces...                                          There is already a pid file /var/run/dhclient.eth0.pid with pid 6496
    killed old client process, removed PID file
    Internet Systems Consortium DHCP Client V3.0.6
    Copyright 2004-2007 Internet Systems Consortium.
    All rights reserved.
    For info, please visit http://www.isc.org/sw/dhcp/
    
    Listening on LPF/eth0/00:1d:09:b2:5c:ea
    Sending on   LPF/eth0/00:1d:09:b2:5c:ea
    Sending on   Socket/fallback
    DHCPRELEASE on eth0 to 10.0.1.1 port 67
    ioctl[SIOCSIWMODE]: Operation not supported
    Could not configure driver to use managed mode
    ioctl[SIOCGIWRANGE]: Operation not supported
    ioctl[SIOCSIWENCODEEXT]: Operation not supported
    ioctl[SIOCSIWENCODE]: Operation not supported
    ioctl[SIOCSIWENCODEEXT]: Operation not supported
    ioctl[SIOCSIWENCODE]: Operation not supported
    ioctl[SIOCSIWENCODEEXT]: Operation not supported
    ioctl[SIOCSIWENCODE]: Operation not supported
    ioctl[SIOCSIWENCODEEXT]: Operation not supported
    ioctl[SIOCSIWENCODE]: Operation not supported
    There is already a pid file /var/run/dhclient.eth0.pid with pid 134519072
    Internet Systems Consortium DHCP Client V3.0.6
    Copyright 2004-2007 Internet Systems Consortium.
    All rights reserved.
    For info, please visit http://www.isc.org/sw/dhcp/
    
    Listening on LPF/eth0/00:1d:09:b2:5c:ea
    Sending on   LPF/eth0/00:1d:09:b2:5c:ea
    Sending on   Socket/fallback
    DHCPDISCOVER on eth0 to 255.255.255.255 port 67 interval 6
    DHCPDISCOVER on eth0 to 255.255.255.255 port 67 interval 12
    DHCPDISCOVER on eth0 to 255.255.255.255 port 67 interval 13
    No DHCPOFFERS received.
    No working leases in persistent database - sleeping.
                                                                             [ OK ]
    maramot@ubuntu:~$
    So we can write that off. I'll try this wicd network manager but I don't hope for much. The problem is between hardy and the AirPort express router. I am able to connect to a wireless network in the neighbourhood without the slightest effort, so I don't think changing the network manager will improve things with the router I have at home. Let's try anyway and we'll see.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Beans
    44

    Re: 8.04 - No wireless with BCM4310 although seemingly installed

    As I thouhgt -- the damn router won't give me IP address!! I connect perfectly to the other network. If I manually enter an IP, DNS and mask I get this message at the wicd status bar: "Connected to None at 56 (IP: 10.0.1.3)"

    wicd is a nice manager by the way. Do you think anything could improve if I open the preferences and experiment with a different WPA supplicant driver (there's a drop box with drivers). I have hostap, hermes, madwifi, atmel, wext (the currently selected), ndiswrapper, broadcom, ipw, ralink legacy.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •