Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: High Cpu usage in Ubuntu 8.04

  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Beans
    4

    Question High Cpu usage in Ubuntu 8.04

    Hi,
    I've just installed Ubuntu v8.04 on my Dell Laptop. Its an Intel Centrino Core 2 Duo T9300 2.5Ghz processor machine with 4 Gig ram. I am running Dual boot with vista ultimate using the grub bootmananger.
    I love Ubuntu!
    My problem is that the fan of the computer is constantly worjking and that both processors are always on 10 - 20 % usage when I am doing absolutely nothing. I start Ubuntu / Gnome Desktop (version 2.22.1) and the system monitor and both CPU's are working hard. If I check the processes, they are all at 0% CPU) Any ideas on how to fix that?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    US
    Beans
    2,782
    Distro
    Ubuntu 8.04 Hardy Heron

    Re: High Cpu usage in Ubuntu 8.04

    post the results of typing
    Code:
    top
    in terminal
    Desktop: Q6600 OC: 343 x 9, 4 GB RAM, 8600 GTS Twinview (22",17"), 1.5 TB RAID 5
    Laptop: Lenovo T61 T7300 @ 2 GHz, 2GB RAM, Nvidia 140M Quadro, 160 GB harddrive
    Remember to mark posts as [SOLVED] when your problem is resolved

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Beans
    4

    Re: High Cpu usage in Ubuntu 8.04

    top - 13:02:01 up 9 min, 2 users, load average: 1.05, 0.60, 0.30
    Tasks: 121 total, 1 running, 120 sleeping, 0 stopped, 0 zombie
    Cpu(s): 15.7%us, 1.9%sy, 0.0%ni, 82.4%id, 0.0%wa, 0.0%hi, 0.0%si, 0.0%st
    Mem: 3630620k total, 492764k used, 3137856k free, 13244k buffers
    Swap: 497972k total, 0k used, 497972k free, 263292k cached
    PID to kill:
    PID USER PR NI VIRT RES SHR S %CPU %MEM TIME+ COMMAND
    5663 root 20 0 822m 30m 7880 S 20 0.8 1:35.70 Xorg
    6262 fconrad 20 0 39888 19m 12m S 14 0.5 0:58.60 gnome-system-mo
    6100 fconrad 20 0 52608 30m 10m S 3 0.9 0:23.50 compiz.real
    6031 fconrad 20 0 36392 19m 12m S 1 0.6 0:01.28 gnome-panel
    6449 fconrad 20 0 75188 20m 11m S 1 0.6 0:01.04 gnome-terminal
    6590 fconrad 20 0 2308 1124 856 R 1 0.0 0:00.16 top
    1 root 20 0 2844 1688 544 S 0 0.0 0:01.16 init
    2 root 15 -5 0 0 0 S 0 0.0 0:00.00 kthreadd
    3 root RT -5 0 0 0 S 0 0.0 0:00.00 migration/0
    4 root 15 -5 0 0 0 S 0 0.0 0:00.00 ksoftirqd/0
    5 root RT -5 0 0 0 S 0 0.0 0:00.00 watchdog/0
    6 root RT -5 0 0 0 S 0 0.0 0:00.00 migration/1

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Beans
    4

    Re: High Cpu usage in Ubuntu 8.04

    goes down to this when I quit the system monitor:

    top - 13:05:18 up 12 min, 2 users, load average: 0.31, 0.50, 0.31
    Tasks: 121 total, 1 running, 120 sleeping, 0 stopped, 0 zombie
    Cpu(s): 3.1%us, 1.3%sy, 0.0%ni, 94.9%id, 0.0%wa, 0.7%hi, 0.0%si, 0.0%st
    Mem: 3630620k total, 522828k used, 3107792k free, 13728k buffers
    Swap: 497972k total, 0k used, 497972k free, 265624k cached
    PID to kill:
    PID USER PR NI VIRT RES SHR S %CPU %MEM TIME+ COMMAND
    5663 root 20 0 822m 30m 7860 S 2 0.9 2:19.98 Xorg
    6100 fconrad 20 0 51604 30m 10m S 2 0.9 0:38.99 compiz.real
    6449 fconrad 20 0 75188 20m 11m S 1 0.6 0:01.32 gnome-terminal
    6590 fconrad 20 0 2308 1124 856 R 1 0.0 0:00.38 top
    5237 root 20 0 21088 2196 1888 S 0 0.1 0:00.13 NetworkManager
    1 root 20 0 2844 1688 544 S 0 0.0 0:01.16 init

    However, the fan is always noisier than it would be in Vista.
    thanks for help, if there is any.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    US
    Beans
    2,782
    Distro
    Ubuntu 8.04 Hardy Heron

    Re: High Cpu usage in Ubuntu 8.04

    can you install lmsensors or something so that we can look at the temperatures. It seems like ubuntu is reading them wrong or something. Also try using gkrellm or conky and you should be able to find the temperatures.
    Desktop: Q6600 OC: 343 x 9, 4 GB RAM, 8600 GTS Twinview (22",17"), 1.5 TB RAID 5
    Laptop: Lenovo T61 T7300 @ 2 GHz, 2GB RAM, Nvidia 140M Quadro, 160 GB harddrive
    Remember to mark posts as [SOLVED] when your problem is resolved

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Beans
    4

    Re: High Cpu usage in Ubuntu 8.04

    Hi,
    I've tried all of those tools but don't seem to be able to get much info on fan speed and CPU temperature. lm-sensors sensors-detect comes up with:
    # sensors-detect revision 5016 (2007-11-11 22:20:16 +0100)

    This program will help you determine which kernel modules you need
    to load to use lm_sensors most effectively. It is generally safe
    and recommended to accept the default answers to all questions,
    unless you know what you're doing.

    We can start with probing for (PCI) I2C or SMBus adapters.
    Do you want to probe now? (YES/no): y
    Probing for PCI bus adapters...
    Use driver `i2c-i801' for device 0000:00:1f.3: Intel 82801H ICH8

    We will now try to load each adapter module in turn.
    Load `i2c-i801' (say NO if built into your kernel)? (YES/no): y
    Module loaded successfully.
    If you have undetectable or unsupported adapters, you can have them
    scanned by manually loading the modules before running this script.

    To continue, we need module `i2c-dev' to be loaded.
    Do you want to load `i2c-dev' now? (YES/no): y
    Module loaded successfully.

    We are now going to do the I2C/SMBus adapter probings. Some chips may
    be double detected; we choose the one with the highest confidence
    value in that case.
    If you found that the adapter hung after probing a certain address,
    you can specify that address to remain unprobed.

    Next adapter: NVIDIA i2c adapter (i2c-0)
    Do you want to scan it? (YES/no/selectively): y

    Next adapter: NVIDIA i2c adapter (i2c-1)
    Do you want to scan it? (YES/no/selectively): y

    Next adapter: NVIDIA i2c adapter (i2c-2)
    Do you want to scan it? (YES/no/selectively): y
    Client found at address 0x50
    Probing for `Analog Devices ADM1033'... No
    Probing for `Analog Devices ADM1034'... No
    Probing for `SPD EEPROM'... No
    Probing for `EDID EEPROM'... Yes
    (confidence 8, not a hardware monitoring chip)

    Next adapter: SMBus I801 adapter at 10c0 (i2c-3)
    Do you want to scan it? (YES/no/selectively): y
    Client found at address 0x44
    Probing for `Maxim MAX6633/MAX6634/MAX6635'... No
    Client found at address 0x50
    Probing for `Analog Devices ADM1033'... No
    Probing for `Analog Devices ADM1034'... No
    Probing for `SPD EEPROM'... Yes
    (confidence 8, not a hardware monitoring chip)
    Probing for `EDID EEPROM'... No
    Client found at address 0x52
    Probing for `Analog Devices ADM1033'... No
    Probing for `Analog Devices ADM1034'... No
    Probing for `SPD EEPROM'... Yes
    (confidence 8, not a hardware monitoring chip)
    Probing for `EDID EEPROM'... No

    Some chips are also accessible through the ISA I/O ports. We have to
    write to arbitrary I/O ports to probe them. This is usually safe though.
    Yes, you do have ISA I/O ports even if you do not have any ISA slots!
    Do you want to scan the ISA I/O ports? (YES/no): y
    Probing for `National Semiconductor LM78' at 0x290... No
    Probing for `National Semiconductor LM78-J' at 0x290... No
    Probing for `National Semiconductor LM79' at 0x290... No
    Probing for `Winbond W83781D' at 0x290... No
    Probing for `Winbond W83782D' at 0x290... No
    Probing for `Silicon Integrated Systems SIS5595'... No
    Probing for `VIA VT82C686 Integrated Sensors'... No
    Probing for `VIA VT8231 Integrated Sensors'... No
    Probing for `IPMI BMC KCS' at 0xca0... No
    Probing for `IPMI BMC SMIC' at 0xca8... No

    Some Super I/O chips may also contain sensors. We have to write to
    standard I/O ports to probe them. This is usually safe.
    Do you want to scan for Super I/O sensors? (YES/no): y
    Probing for Super-I/O at 0x2e/0x2f
    Trying family `National Semiconductor'... No
    Trying family `SMSC'... Yes
    Found unknown chip with ID 0x3201
    Probing for Super-I/O at 0x4e/0x4f
    Trying family `National Semiconductor'... No
    Trying family `SMSC'... No
    Trying family `VIA/Winbond/Fintek'... No
    Trying family `ITE'... No

    Some CPUs or memory controllers may also contain embedded sensors.
    Do you want to scan for them? (YES/no): y
    AMD K8 thermal sensors... No
    AMD K10 thermal sensors... No
    Intel Core family thermal sensor... No
    Intel AMB FB-DIMM thermal sensor... No

    Sorry, no sensors were detected.
    Either your sensors are not supported, or they are connected to an
    I2C or SMBus adapter that is not supported. See doc/FAQ,
    doc/lm_sensors-FAQ.html or http://www.lm-sensors.org/wiki/FAQ
    (FAQ #4.24.3) for further information.
    If you find out what chips are on your board, check
    http://www.lm-sensors.org/wiki/Devices for driver status.

    sorry for the long file!
    Conky is great but does not display temperature info, however, the CPU speed displayed goes down to 800 MhZ if I don't do anything.
    Thanks heaps for help!

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •