Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Gnome+kde?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Beans
    17

    Gnome+kde?

    Is it possible to have both Gnome and KDE on the same install of Ubuntu?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Kubuntu

    Re: Gnome+kde?

    Yes, just install the one you don't have:

    Code:
    sudo apt-get install ubuntu-desktop #gnome
    Code:
    sudo apt-get install kubuntu-desktop #kde
    Wish I could prove I love you, but does that mean I have to walk on water?
    When we are older you'll understand it's enough when I say so, and maybe some things are that simple.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Beans
    26

    Re: Gnome+kde?

    Yep just do what amingv said. When you reboot look in the sessions menu on your login window *before you login* and youll see an option for kde or gnome.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Kubuntu

    Re: Gnome+kde?

    Quote Originally Posted by zach382 View Post
    Yep just do what amingv said. When you reboot look in the sessions menu on your login window *before you login* and youll see an option for kde or gnome.
    We do not teach bad customs here, OK? (j/k)
    Just press Ctrl + Alt + Backspace.
    Wish I could prove I love you, but does that mean I have to walk on water?
    When we are older you'll understand it's enough when I say so, and maybe some things are that simple.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Beans
    17

    Re: Gnome+kde?

    sweet thanks, its downloading right now...

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Alexandria, VA
    Beans
    58
    Distro
    Ubuntu 13.10 Saucy Salamander

    Re: Gnome+kde?

    does
    Code:
    sudo apt-get remove kubuntu-desktop
    remove all the files installed by
    Code:
    sudo apt-get install kubuntu-desktop
    ?
    Nothing so needs reforming as other people's habits.
    -- Mark Twain

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Derby, uk
    Beans
    79
    Distro
    Ubuntu 9.04 Jaunty Jackalope

    Re: Gnome+kde?

    This will remove all the executable files, but leave any configuaration files. Use "purge" instead of "install" to remove everything. Or if you use sunaptic package manager, select, "mark for complete removal" rather than "mark for removal"

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Alexandria, VA
    Beans
    58
    Distro
    Ubuntu 13.10 Saucy Salamander

    Re: Gnome+kde?

    After using the command
    Code:
    sudo apt-get install xubuntu-desktop
    I tried to remove the packages installed with that command by :
    Code:
    ~$ sudo apt-get autoremove xubuntu-desktop 
    Reading package lists... Done
    Building dependency tree       
    Reading state information... Done
    The following packages will be REMOVED:
      xubuntu-desktop
    0 upgraded, 0 newly installed, 1 to remove and 0 not upgraded.
    After this operation, 41.0kB disk space will be freed.
    Do you want to continue [Y/n]?
    But, the command only uninstalls 1 package... Is there a way to remove all packages installed by the first command?
    Nothing so needs reforming as other people's habits.
    -- Mark Twain

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Central Coast, California
    Beans
    1,789

    Re: Gnome+kde?

    I think that doing a
    Code:
    sudo apt-get remove xubuntu-core
    will do the trick. I also think that there's some difference between apt-get and aptitude when it comes to matters like this, but I don't completely understand what it is.
    I do not use Ubuntu any more, nor have I ever used Gnome. Therefore, I tend to give advice that is distro- and DE-agnostic, which, while perhaps not the easiest way, will allow you to move freely between machines.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •