Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: mounting ISO

  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Beans
    8

    Talking mounting ISO

    Hi,
    I just installed Ubuntu yesterday and managed to learn a few things. I am trying to install a game that is in .iso format. I installed Wine since it is needed to run windows programs and i installed gisomount as well. But now i don't know where to go from here. I tried to looks in all the folders in applications to find gisomount but cannot find it anywhere.

    Any help would be greatly appreciated

    Thx

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Phoenix, AZ
    Beans
    1,393
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.10 Maverick Meerkat

    Re: mounting ISO

    It should be in your Applications menu.

    You can also do ALT + F2, then type gisomount in the dialog box.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Minnesota
    Beans
    748
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.04 Lucid Lynx

    Re: mounting ISO

    You can mount the ISO from the command line;open a terminal (Applications>Accessories>Terminal) and enter...

    sudo mkdir /media/iso
    sudo mount -t iso9660 ~/Desktop/your.iso /media/iso -o loop
    ls -la /media/iso
    This assumes the ISO is on your desktop if not use the correct path also be sure to replace your.iso with the name of the ISO to be mounted.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Melbourne
    Beans
    799
    Distro
    Kubuntu 8.04 Hardy Heron

    Re: mounting ISO

    You can also just mount stuff from the command line.

    Put the .iso file on your desktop.

    Open up any terminal program.

    Type the following:
    Code:
    cd ~/Desktop
    mkdir ISO
    sudo mount -o loop *.iso ISO
    You can replace "*.iso" with the path to your .iso file if you like.

    It will then be mounted. You can open it in a file-manager window by typing:
    Code:
    nautilus ISO
    Last edited by ChameleonDave; May 3rd, 2008 at 06:31 AM.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Beans
    8

    Re: mounting ISO

    Quote Originally Posted by Monicker View Post
    It should be in your Applications menu.

    You can also do ALT + F2, then type gisomount in the dialog box.
    This is telling me that "You need to be root to run this program"

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Beans
    8

    Re: mounting ISO

    Quote Originally Posted by fenian View Post
    You can mount the ISO from the command line;open a terminal (Applications>Accessories>Terminal) and enter...



    This assumes the ISO is on your desktop if not use the correct path also be sure to replace your.iso with the name of the ISO to be mounted.
    Aha that worked like a charm. Thx

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Phoenix, AZ
    Beans
    1,393
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.10 Maverick Meerkat

    Re: mounting ISO

    Quote Originally Posted by saketh321 View Post
    This is telling me that "You need to be root to run this program"
    gksu gisomount works fine, in that case.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •