Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: An error occured

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Beans
    2

    An error occured

    I am a new user and now have a red no entry sign on the top bar. i t says an error occured, run package manager. i cant a package manager and i cant open the software centre and i cant update anytghing either. is this some kind of bug? HELP i am new to all this, i am trying to get away from microst and all of those problems...?? jon

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Beans
    389

    Re: An error occured

    Copy the entire error message and paste it here.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Beans
    2

    A red 'no entry' sign has appeared on the top bar, and I am now barred from updating

    I have no access to my software and I am not able to update. The error flag says I should use a package manager, what is a package manager and where do I find it. I have changed from MS to get away from bugs and a constant battle wids virus packages, have made a mistake changing to Ubuntu? Jon

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Beta Testing in Canada
    Beans
    5,543
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: A red 'no entry' sign has appeared on the top bar, and I am now barred from upda

    Quote Originally Posted by jon-h View Post
    I have no access to my software and I am not able to update. The error flag says I should use a package manager, what is a package manager and where do I find it. I have changed from MS to get away from bugs and a constant battle wids virus packages, have made a mistake changing to Ubuntu? Jon
    You are not barred.

    Press the keys:

    Ctrl+Alt+t and you will get a terminal.

    At the prompt enter these codes.

    Code:
    sudo apt-get update <Enter>
    sudo apt-get dist-upgrade <Enter>
    Are you running the 14.04 'Trusty' version of Ubuntu?
    This is Rolling Release
    Warnings for New Beta Testers& Helpful Terminal Commands:
    Running Trusty /devel/@ 5.120GHz32bit/ Please put [ prefix] on New Threads!

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Beans
    3,280
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: A red 'no entry' sign has appeared on the top bar, and I am now barred from upda

    Also a good idea to get your updates is adding a few aliases to .bashrc.

    gedit ~/.bashrc

    and add these lines at about line 92:

    Code:
    # update aliases
    alias ud='sudo apt-get update && sudo apt-get upgrade && sudo apt-get clean'
    alias ud2='sudo apt-get dist-upgrade'
    alias ud3='sudo apt-get autoremove'
    Logout and back in. Open up terminal Ctrl+Alt+t if you cannot access it any other way.
    Then just enter ud in terminal and your password and it will check for updates.

    Then if there is an update held back because there is an additional file that is new enter ud2.

    When it says you have unneeded packages and enter apt-get autoremove to remove them just enter ud3.

    Although these help, ventrical knows more about this stuff than I do.
    Check Java Version | Install Java via WEB UPD8 PPA
    Creating a Custom Maintenance Free GRUB2 Screen Community Wiki
    Ubuntu 12.04 | 14.04 | 14.10 | 14.10 Mate | Mint 13 | Mint 17 | Windows 7 | All 64 bit

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Beans
    Hidden!

    Re: A red 'no entry' sign has appeared on the top bar, and I am now barred from upda

    My package manager just went all loopy on me as well... something with openjdk 7 went belly up. I had to do a sudo apt-get -f install to get it all sorted again... I am on Xubuntu 13.10 (just saying )
    404

    Come shoot the breeze with us on the Ubuntu Forums IRC channel - #ubuntuforums

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Beans
    3,280
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: A red 'no entry' sign has appeared on the top bar, and I am now barred from upda

    Quote Originally Posted by not found View Post
    My package manager just went all loopy on me as well... something with openjdk 7 went belly up. I had to do a sudo apt-get -f install to get it all sorted again... I am on Xubuntu 13.10 (just saying )
    If you know ranch hand, you'll recall he always called update manager "update mangler". He told me to always use the CLI method to get updates.

    Someone in this forum told me how to put those into .bashrc but I cannot remember who it was.
    I added the third one "ud3" myself to save typing.
    Check Java Version | Install Java via WEB UPD8 PPA
    Creating a Custom Maintenance Free GRUB2 Screen Community Wiki
    Ubuntu 12.04 | 14.04 | 14.10 | 14.10 Mate | Mint 13 | Mint 17 | Windows 7 | All 64 bit

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Kolkata India
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu

    Re: A red 'no entry' sign has appeared on the top bar, and I am now barred from upda

    Thread moved to Absolute Beginners Section.
    “Progress is made by lazy men looking for easier ways to do things”
    — Robert A. Heinlein

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Beans
    10,770

    Re: A red 'no entry' sign has appeared on the top bar, and I am now barred from upda

    Sounds like a broken icon??? Sometimes certain apps that are not compatible with various panels display a broken icon in the panel.

    We don't even know which desktop environment you're using, or which flavor of Ubuntu you installed. I see you originally posted here:

    http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=2192750

    We really need much more info.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Beans
    365

    Re: A red 'no entry' sign has appeared on the top bar, and I am now barred from upda

    OP, you should probably take a screen shot.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •