Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: Workspace Switching

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Oz
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Workspace Switching

    I think this started with the change with Gnome (3.6 and 3.8 effected) going to vertical, as against horizontal, workspaces. Now, when I make a move from one workspace to another I get this not too subtle indicator.

    Screenshot.png

    Anyone know how to reduce the size or make it less intrusive?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Beans
    14

    Re: Workspace Switching

    Now that you mention it, on Unity only switching horizontally works (CTRL + ALT + Arrow).

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Beans
    874

    Re: Workspace Switching

    ctrr+ alt+up or down would work.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Exodus Hair<- Čubura
    Beans
    3,699
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: Workspace Switching

    Quote Originally Posted by SPK201 View Post
    Now that you mention it, on Unity only switching horizontally works (CTRL + ALT + Arrow).
    That depends how You've selected Your work-spaces to be arranged... I think that 1x4 (#_in_Vx#_in_H) is default arrangement...
    If You have default arrangement You can not go Up/Down...
    Last edited by zika; July 15th, 2013 at 12:33 PM.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Beans
    14

    Re: Workspace Switching

    I just ticked the box for Workspaces in the system settings. < 13.10 it worked for both directions. Thus I don't understand what you mean with default arrangement, ain't there just one default option?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Exodus Hair<- Čubura
    Beans
    3,699
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: Workspace Switching

    Quote Originally Posted by SPK201 View Post
    I just ticked the box for Workspaces in the system settings. < 13.10 it worked for both directions. Thus I don't understand what you mean with default arrangement, ain't there just one default option?
    I do not have default now... I always change it to 4x4... (I've corrected my mistake in my previous post...)
    As far as I remember default was always 1 level (vertically) and 4 WS in horizontal line...

    To read current state:
    0.
    Code:
    gconftool --get /apps/compiz-1/general/screen0/options/hsize
    gconftool --get /apps/compiz-1/general/screen0/options/vsize
    To change current state:
    1. CCSM>GeneralOptions>DesktopSize...
    or
    2. Unity-Tweak-Tool>WorkspaceSettings... (yes, default is 1x4)
    or
    3.
    Code:
    gconftool --set /apps/compiz-1/general/screen0/options/hsize --type=int some_number_for_example_1234
    gconftool --set /apps/compiz-1/general/screen0/options/vsize --type=int some_number_for_example_4321
    (writing from memory which is old as me...)
    Last edited by zika; July 15th, 2013 at 12:49 PM.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Beans
    12,738

    Re: Workspace Switching

    Quote Originally Posted by PJs Ronin View Post
    I think this started with the change with Gnome (3.6 and 3.8 effected) going to vertical, as against horizontal, workspaces. Now, when I make a move from one workspace to another I get this not too subtle indicator.

    Anyone know how to reduce the size or make it less intrusive?
    Don't see any available settings to alter it, maybe some extension somewhere, don't know
    (looks a little better here as is more like the notifications

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Beans
    12,738

    Re: Workspace Switching in unity with wall

    Quote Originally Posted by SPK201 View Post
    Now that you mention it, on Unity only switching horizontally works (CTRL + ALT + Arrow).
    To note: the default when enabling workspaces is 2x2
    It appears the default wall bindings are not setting correctly
    So up & down are now super+prior & super+next which translates here to super+page up/down
    You can open ccsm > wall > bindings > move within a wall & set back for "move up & move down" to ctrl+alt+arrow_key_up/down

    Edit: the defaults are the same as old so in ccsm just click on the button to far right to reset
    screen attached to show how it looks by default with incorrect bindings
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Last edited by mc4man; July 15th, 2013 at 02:40 PM.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Oz
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: Workspace Switching

    Quote Originally Posted by mc4man View Post
    Don't see any available settings to alter it, maybe some extension somewhere, don't know
    (looks a little better here as is more like the notifications
    Thank you. I was beginning to wonder if anyone else had actually read the OP. I was not questioning how many workspaces there were/are or their geometry, I was seeking advice on how to reduce the size of the popup that appears as shown in the image attached to the OP. Simple, n'est-ce pas?
    Last edited by PJs Ronin; July 16th, 2013 at 12:29 AM. Reason: OCD grammar

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Exodus Hair<- Čubura
    Beans
    3,699
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: Workspace Switching

    Quote Originally Posted by PJs Ronin View Post
    Thank you. I was beginning to wonder if anyone else had actually read the OP. I was not questioning how many workspaces there were/are or their geometry, I was seeking advice on how to reduce the size of the popup that appears as shown in the image attached to the OP. Simple, n'est-ce pas?
    Mea culpa, I reacted on thred-highjack from @SPK201... Sorry...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •