One option, which usually works provided you have a google account and previously had chrome set to sync everything with that account, is to simply delete your profile for chrome. It's found at
Whenever I've had to delete mine, I'll get an error that it was unable to delete because a file is in use, but it deletes everything except
Even if you force delete it through the terminal, that file will re-create itself almost instantly.
Anyway, that's worked for me any time I've had any problems with chrome and profile errors. As soon as you log back into your google account all of your bookmarks, settings, saved passwords, and plugins will be restored within a matter of minutes (although you won't see some of the plugins until you restart chrome).
Again, that only works if you set chrome up to sync everything to your google account. If not, you'll loose anything that isn't kept in sync.