Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 33

Thread: Can't connect wirelessly, but it says I am?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Beans
    197
    Distro
    Ubuntu 13.10 Saucy Salamander

    Question Can't connect wirelessly, but it says I am?

    I just installed Ubuntu 12.10 on my Dell Studio 540 desktop.
    When I try to connect wirelessly, the wireless connection icon (in the top right corner of the screen) says I'm connected. If I select "Connection Information" it shows that I'm connected.

    But when I try to surf or update my OS, it gives me one of those failed to connect messages.

    Can somebody help me???
    Oh you'll get yours, Microsoft.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Beans
    2,050

    Re: Can't connect wirelessly, but it says I am???

    Open a terminal window (search for "terminal" in dash).

    Then in the terminal type:

    Code:
    sudo lshw -C network
    and

    Code:
    iwconfig
    and please produce the output here.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Beans
    197
    Distro
    Ubuntu 13.10 Saucy Salamander

    Thumbs down Re: Can't connect wirelessly, but it says I am???

    lshw -C Network :

    Code:
    yousaf@yousaf-Studio-540:~$ sudo lshw -C network
    
    [sudo] password for yousaf: 
    
      *-network
           description: Ethernet interface
           product: RTL8111/8168B PCI Express Gigabit Ethernet controller
           vendor: Realtek Semiconductor Co., Ltd.
           physical id: 0
           bus info: pci@0000:04:00.0
           logical name: eth0
           version: 02
           serial: 00:21:70:5b:c4:2b
           size: 10Mbit/s
           capacity: 1Gbit/s
           width: 64 bits
           clock: 33MHz
           capabilities: pm msi pciexpress msix vpd bus_master cap_list rom ethernet physical tp mii 10bt 10bt-fd 100bt 100bt-fd 1000bt 1000bt-fd autonegotiation
           configuration: autonegotiation=on broadcast=yes driver=r8169 driverversion=2.3LK-NAPI duplex=half latency=0 link=no multicast=yes port=MII speed=10Mbit/s
           resources: irq:44 ioport:e800(size=256) memory:feaff000-feafffff memory:fdff0000-fdffffff memory:feac0000-feadffff
    
      *-network
           description: Wireless interface
           product: BCM4321 802.11b/g/n
           vendor: Broadcom Corporation
           physical id: 0
           bus info: pci@0000:05:00.0
           logical name: eth1
           version: 01
           serial: 00:22:6b:9e:14:be
           width: 32 bits
           clock: 33MHz
           capabilities: bus_master ethernet physical wireless
           configuration: broadcast=yes driver=wl0 driverversion=5.100.82.112 ip=10.42.0.1 latency=64 multicast=yes wireless=IEEE 802.11bgn
           resources: irq:17 memory:febfc000-febfffff
    
    yousaf@yousaf-Studio-540:~$ 
    
    iwconfig :
    
    yousaf@yousaf-Studio-540:~$ iwconfig
    
    eth0      no wireless extensions.
    
    eth1      IEEE 802.11  Access Point: Not-Associated   
              Link Quality:5  Signal level:199  Noise level:199
              Rx invalid nwid:0  invalid crypt:0  invalid misc:0
    
    lo        no wireless extensions.
    
    
    yousaf@yousaf-Studio-540:~$
    Last edited by varunendra; February 21st, 2013 at 09:25 AM. Reason: fixed code tags
    Oh you'll get yours, Microsoft.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Beans
    2,050

    Re: Can't connect wirelessly, but it says I am???


  5. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Beans
    197
    Distro
    Ubuntu 13.10 Saucy Salamander

    Re: Can't connect wirelessly, but it says I am???

    Quote Originally Posted by ahallubuntu View Post
    Actually I came across that very same post in my online search, and I already tried that.

    Didn't work.
    Oh you'll get yours, Microsoft.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Beans
    197
    Distro
    Ubuntu 13.10 Saucy Salamander

    Re: Can't connect wirelessly, but it says I am???

    Bump!!!!
    Oh you'll get yours, Microsoft.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Beans
    508

    Re: Can't connect wirelessly, but it says I am???

    You have an ip address, so edit the connection and see that you have the type "automatic DHCP" selected, and NOT "DHCP no addresses". Of course, you router may also be unplugged from the WAN.
    fourth attempt with preview

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Nr BrandsHatch, S'oaks UK
    Beans
    1,241
    Distro
    Lubuntu 13.04 Raring Ringtail

    Re: Can't connect wirelessly, but it says I am???

    Hi!, YMS_1975,

    Checkout your other THREAD:

    http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.p...2#post12471832

    bogan.
    "Better Solutions may bring Worsened Problems": After Lao Tse, b. circa 405BC. a contemporary of Confucius, who died circa 600BC.
    They did things differently in those days, apparently!!

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Beans
    197
    Distro
    Ubuntu 13.10 Saucy Salamander

    Re: Can't connect wirelessly, but it says I am???

    Quote Originally Posted by ubfan1 View Post
    You have an ip address, so edit the connection and see that you have the type "automatic DHCP" selected, and NOT "DHCP no addresses". Of course, you router may also be unplugged from the WAN.
    fourth attempt with preview
    I checked this but still nothing. I have another laptop that connects to the wireless network just fine.

    All it does is attempt to connect to the network (the wireless icon [the one with the wavy lines] moves up and down in an attempt to connect to the network) but it won't connect. Instead it says "Authentication required by wireless network" and it prompts me to enter my networks password. I KNOW that I'm entering the correct password, so that's not the problem.


    Is there any other suggestions? I'M STARTING TO GET REAL DESPARATE HERE. My desktop has been down for a few days now.
    Oh you'll get yours, Microsoft.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    South Carolina, USA
    Beans
    20,567
    Distro
    Ubuntu 14.10 Utopic Unicorn

    Re: Can't connect wirelessly, but it says I am?

    configuration: broadcast=yes driver=wl0 driverversion=5.100.82.112 ip=10.42.0.1 latency=64 multicast=yes wireless=IEEE 802.11bgn
    Yes, indeed, you have an IP address. Addresses in the range of 10.42.x.x are generally used for ad-hoc, that is computer-to-computer arrangements. Is that what you intended? No?? Is that the range used by other computers on your network? I suspect they are typical home network addresses, something likke 192.168.x.x.

    Please right-click the Network Manager icon and edit connections. Select Wireless and go through each tab and remove, delete, purge all extra settings except one. Be sure Mode is set to infrastructure. Please see attached. Close everything and tell us if Network Manager finds and connects to your network as expected. It may take a reboot.
    Attached Images Attached Images
    "Oh, Ubuntu, you are my favorite Linux-based operating system" --Dr. Sheldon Cooper, Ph.D.

Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •