Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Ubuntu 10.04 cannot network

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Beans
    93

    Ubuntu 10.04 cannot network

    Hi, I am a newbie for Linux and installed a dial booting OS(Windows XP and Ubuntu 10.04). Windows XP runs very well, but Ubuntu cannot visit websites except www.google.com.

    Especially, while starting Ubuntu, "init; ureadahead main process (***) terminated with status 5" emerged, and *** is a number. Every time, this number is different. I noticed that 386, 306, 293, 297, 280 etc ever emerged.

    Code:
    mike@mike-laptop:~$ ifconfig
    eth0      Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 00:26:18:57:3a:96  
              inet addr:192.168.179.205  Bcast:192.168.179.255  Mask:255.255.255.0
              inet6 addr: fe80::226:18ff:fe57:3a96/64 Scope:Link
              UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
              RX packets:21459 errors:257 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:257
              TX packets:7880 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
              collisions:2 txqueuelen:1000 
              RX bytes:16052319 (16.0 MB)  TX bytes:588923 (588.9 KB)
              Interrupt:19 Base address:0xdead 
    
    lo        Link encap:Local Loopback  
              inet addr:127.0.0.1  Mask:255.0.0.0
              inet6 addr: ::1/128 Scope:Host
              UP LOOPBACK RUNNING  MTU:16436  Metric:1
              RX packets:12 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
              TX packets:12 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
              collisions:0 txqueuelen:0 
              RX bytes:720 (720.0 B)  TX bytes:720 (720.0 B)
    
    wlan0     Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 00:25:d3:02:95:25  
              UP BROADCAST MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
              RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
              TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
              collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000 
              RX bytes:0 (0.0 B)  TX bytes:0 (0.0 B)
    
    mike@mike-laptop:~$ 
    mike@mike-laptop:~$ ping 8.8.8.8
    PING 8.8.8.8 (8.8.8.8) 56(84) bytes of data.
    64 bytes from 8.8.8.8: icmp_seq=1 ttl=46 time=66.1 ms
    64 bytes from 8.8.8.8: icmp_seq=2 ttl=46 time=51.1 ms
    64 bytes from 8.8.8.8: icmp_seq=3 ttl=46 time=51.5 ms
    64 bytes from 8.8.8.8: icmp_seq=4 ttl=46 time=64.8 ms
    ^C
    --- 8.8.8.8 ping statistics ---
    4 packets transmitted, 4 received, 0% packet loss, time 3004ms
    rtt min/avg/max/mdev = 51.173/58.432/66.151/7.082 ms
    mike@mike-laptop:~$ ping www.ibm.com
    PING www.ibm.com.cs186.net (129.42.60.216) 56(84) bytes of data.
    Any help is welcome. Thanks in advance.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Reykjavík, Ísland
    Beans
    9,267
    Distro
    Lubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

    Re: Ubuntu 10.04 cannot network

    10.04 had several problems with ureadahead. I would recommend a fresh install of 12.04 or 12.10.
    About problems due to upgrading
    Bringing old hardware back to life.
    Please visit Quick Links -> Unanswered Posts

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Beans
    93

    Re: Ubuntu 10.04 cannot network

    Quote Originally Posted by mörgæs View Post
    10.04 had several problems with ureadahead. I would recommend a fresh install of 12.04 or 12.10.
    But, why I cannot network? I can access to network at my home, but cannot at my office.
    Last edited by pellyhawk; December 5th, 2012 at 03:00 AM.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    India
    Beans
    7,198
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: Ubuntu 10.04 cannot network

    I don't think the ureadahead bug is related with the network problem, but I concur with mörgæs about switching to 12.04 or 12.10. Lucid (10.04) will reach its EOL (end of life) in April next year, so it make sense to upgrade now, especially if you are facing any OS dependent problems.

    As for the current problem -
    Quote Originally Posted by pellyhawk View Post
    Ubuntu cannot visit websites except www.google.com.
    Google.com is a very light page, opens quickly on even extremely slow connections. But heavy pages may not load and open if the connection speed is too slow or has physical errors.

    I can't say why XP is working better but this doesn't look right to me -
    Quote Originally Posted by pellyhawk View Post
    Code:
    mike@mike-laptop:~$ ifconfig
    ..
              RX packets:21459 errors:257 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:257
    Check your cable, connectors and ports. If you can, try replacing the cable with a fresh, tested one. If that doesn't help, you may try setting MTU to a lower value, like 1492 using NM applet > Edit Connections, or by the command -
    Code:
    sudo ifconfig eth0 mtu 1492
    but try this only after double-checking your physical connections.

    Also -
    Quote Originally Posted by pellyhawk View Post
    Code:
    mike@mike-laptop:~$ ping www.ibm.com
    PING www.ibm.com.cs186.net (129.42.60.216) 56(84) bytes of data.
    I just tried pinging ibm.com myself and didn't get any replies. So I guess it doesn't support ping requests. How about -
    Code:
    ping -c4 www.ubuntu.com
    And can you successfully run an update in terminal? -
    Code:
    sudo apt-get update
    does it return any errors?

    However, if the physical connection is okay and setting MTU to a lower value doesn't help, I would once again recommend to switch to 12.04 for any further troubleshooting. Although we can proceed with 10.04 if you wish so.
    Last edited by varunendra; December 5th, 2012 at 02:24 PM. Reason: fix tags
    Varun
    Help others by marking threads as [SOLVED], if they are. (See how)
    Wireless Script | Use Code Tags

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Beans
    93

    Re: Ubuntu 10.04 cannot network

    My OS is decided by my company's IT administrator, so I cannot upgrade

    I almost forget tell you that I can visit websites very well at my home.

    I have checked my cable and it is OK. Then I followed your suggestion and got these results
    Code:
    mike@mike-laptop:~$ ping -c4 www.ubuntu.com
    PING www.ubuntu.com (91.189.89.88) 56(84) bytes of data.
    64 bytes from privet.canonical.com (91.189.89.88): icmp_seq=1 ttl=44 time=304 ms
    64 bytes from privet.canonical.com (91.189.89.88): icmp_seq=2 ttl=44 time=304 ms
    64 bytes from privet.canonical.com (91.189.89.88): icmp_seq=3 ttl=44 time=313 ms
    64 bytes from privet.canonical.com (91.189.89.88): icmp_seq=4 ttl=44 time=303 ms
    
    --- www.ubuntu.com ping statistics ---
    4 packets transmitted, 4 received, 0% packet loss, time 3003ms
    rtt min/avg/max/mdev = 303.958/306.575/313.798/4.208 ms
    mike@mike-laptop:~$ sudo apt-get update
    [sudo] password for mike: 
    Hit http://dl.google.com stable Release.gpg
    Ign http://dl.google.com/linux/chrome/deb/ stable/main Translation-en_US                                                                                     
    Hit http://dl.google.com stable Release                                                                                                                      
    Get:1 http://cn.archive.ubuntu.com lucid Release.gpg [189B]                                                                                       
    Hit http://dl.google.com stable/main Packages                                                                                                          
    Get:2 http://security.ubuntu.com lucid-security Release.gpg [198B]       
    Ign http://security.ubuntu.com/ubuntu/ lucid-security/main Translation-en_US       
    Ign http://security.ubuntu.com/ubuntu/ lucid-security/restricted Translation-en_US
    Hit http://deb.opera.com stable Release.gpg                               
    Ign http://deb.opera.com/opera/ stable/non-free Translation-en_US         
    Ign http://security.ubuntu.com/ubuntu/ lucid-security/universe Translation-en_US
    Ign http://security.ubuntu.com/ubuntu/ lucid-security/multiverse Translation-en_US
    Hit http://deb.opera.com stable Release                                   
    Ign http://deb.opera.com stable/non-free Packages                         
    Ign http://deb.opera.com stable/non-free Packages   
    Hit http://deb.opera.com stable/non-free Packages   
    51% [1 Release.gpg 0B/189B 0%] [Waiting for headers]
    I tried to reconfigure MTU in NM applet, but the buttons of "Edit" and "Delete" is grayed. Thus I cannot modified MTU. Why they are grayed? (I upload the screenshot)

    And I found the network speed is not very high while accessing to network via Windows XP. I guess company's IT limit our network speed. Will MTU affect my access and why MTU will affect it? It seems MTU does not affect my access but my network speed while logging on by Windows XP.

    Thanks a lot.
    Attached Images Attached Images

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    India
    Beans
    7,198
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: Ubuntu 10.04 cannot network

    Quote Originally Posted by pellyhawk View Post
    I almost forget tell you that I can visit websites very well at my home.
    Then my first doubt is firewall settings in your workplace, meaning - maybe your employer has blocked access to certain websites on purpose. But if you can access the same sites on XP, then maybe there is something else affecting Ubuntu. Your ping and update outputs look normal.

    Quote Originally Posted by pellyhawk View Post
    I tried to reconfigure MTU in NM applet, but the buttons of "Edit" and "Delete" is grayed. Thus I cannot modified MTU. Why they are grayed? (I upload the screenshot)
    Your screenshot suggests that the network is not managed by Network Manager, but most probably by /etc/network/interfaces file instead. That's why NM can not edit or change the settings and that's why the edit button is greyed out. To change settings we would have to edit the "interfaces" file. For now, let's just take a look at it. Please post the output of -
    Code:
    cat /etc/network/interfaces
    Quote Originally Posted by pellyhawk View Post
    Will MTU affect my access and why MTU will affect it? It seems MTU does not affect my access but my network speed while logging on by Windows XP.
    I'm not sure I understand correctly the part highlighted in Blue above. Do you mean you tried changing MTU in XP? Please explain it for me.

    MTU is the maximum size of packets that can be transmitted over the network (more info). If it is larger than the size any of your network devices like router, firewall etc. can handle, it will cause malformed packets and thus slow speeds, sometimes even a total blackout! It is usually set to '1492' in Windows (XP, and I believe in others too), and since Windows is usually the standard for most of the vendors, that value is supposed to be more promising if such bottleneck with MTU exists on the network.
    Varun
    Help others by marking threads as [SOLVED], if they are. (See how)
    Wireless Script | Use Code Tags

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Beans
    93

    Re: Ubuntu 10.04 cannot network

    Quote Originally Posted by varunendra View Post
    Will MTU affect my access and why MTU will affect it? It seems MTU does not affect my access but my network speed while logging on by Windows XP.
    I meant while logging on Windows XP, I have not set MTU, and networking is very good. I guess MTU will not affect access but speed. But after you clarified MTU, I knew I make a big mistake.

    I input:
    Code:
    cat /etc/network/interfaces
    and got:
    Code:
    auto lo
    iface lo inet loopback
    
    
    
    auto dsl-provider
    iface dsl-provider inet ppp
    pre-up /sbin/ifconfig eth0 up # line maintained by pppoeconf
    provider dsl-provider
    
    auto eth0
    iface eth0 inet manual
    I replaced these with my VMWare Ubuntu 10.04 /etc/network/interfaces's content
    Code:
    auto lo
    iface lo inet loopback
    Then, reboot Ubuntu 10.04 and this time I can edit or delete this connection. I deleted it and Network Manager create an connection itself(I did not do it manually). But I still cannot access to network until I modified MTU by "1492" as you told me before. I succeed at last. However, I did not understand why modify the /etc/network/interfaces which is what I need to study later. Are what I modified right?

    I also found I can access to network by wireless, but I do not know how to set which is the first access and which is the second(Surprisedly, wireless connection is created automatically, just like wired connection. Why wired and wireless are created aumatically without my permission to create them?).

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    India
    Beans
    7,198
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: Ubuntu 10.04 cannot network

    I don't think such a late reply would mean anything to you, but since your questions are still unanswered, I'll try to explain them in short-
    Quote Originally Posted by pellyhawk View Post
    I succeed at last. However, I did not understand why modify the /etc/network/interfaces which is what I need to study later. Are what I modified right?
    The /etc/network/interfaces file is the traditional way of settin up network connections in Linux, still used in all GUI-less versions (like server installations), and modern applications like Network Manager are designed to respect that tradition.

    By default, if an interface is listed in 'interfaces' file, NM will not manage it. In order to have NM control it, either you need to delete (which you did) or 'comment out' the interface(s) in that file (by adding a # at the start of lines), or you'll have to change the default setting of NM (by changing 'Mode' managed=False to managed=True in /etc/NetworkManager/NetworkManager.conf file).

    In order to aviod conflict over an interface's control, resulting in possible errors, it is always recommended to use either NM or the 'interfaces' file, but not both at the same time.

    I also found I can access to network by wireless, but I do not know how to set which is the first access and which is the second(Surprisedly, wireless connection is created automatically, just like wired connection. Why wired and wireless are created aumatically without my permission to create them?).
    Usually, the wired interface is given priority over wireless interface. As far as I know, there is a way to change the order of priority, but don't remember how.

    NM creates the connections automatically because it is designed that way. As soon as you give the control of an interface to NM, it assumes that you want it to create a logical connection and connect it automatically if possible (that is, if DHCP is enabled on your network).

    If you do not want it to create automatic connections for you, simply 'un-tick' the "Enable Wireless" or even "Enable Networking" option itself (disabling NM altogether) in the drop-down menu of nm-applet. If you only want it to stop connecting automatically, edit the desired connection ("Edit connections" in drop-down menu > double-click the desired connection) and 'Clear' the checkbox that says - "Connect Automatically".

    Hope this answers your curiosity if you haven't already found the answers yourself.

    If your original problem was permanently solved, please mark this thread as [Solved] to help others too.
    Varun
    Help others by marking threads as [SOLVED], if they are. (See how)
    Wireless Script | Use Code Tags

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Beans
    93

    Re: Ubuntu 10.04 cannot network

    Thank you for your reply

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •