Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 18

Thread: workspace-switcher will indicate workspace on

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Beans
    12,905

    workspace-switcher will indicate workspace on

    The Ws will shortly show which Ws one is on But this will only work on the default 2X2 setting
    Any other settings continue to use static icon, at least for now.
    screen shows bottom right (ws 4

    (myself use 1X4 & for the most part hide the launcher & use plank as ATM it's better featured than Unity launcher
    Attached Images Attached Images

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Beta Testing in Canada
    Beans
    5,423
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: workspace-switcher will indicate workspace on

    Very interesting. I assume also that this is the first of the icon changes to come?

    Note* You can also see the window switch in the actual icon.. nice effect.
    This is Rolling Release
    Warnings for New Beta Testers& Helpful Terminal Commands:
    Running Trusty /devel/@ 5.120GHz32bit/ Please put [ prefix] on New Threads!

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Cameron Park CA USA
    Beans
    4,419
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: workspace-switcher will indicate workspace on

    Wow, the Workplace Switcher is about all the cool I can take for one day.
    Regards, frank, at http://yantrayoga.typepad.com/noname/
    Homebuilt Lian-Li PC-Q30X Intel i5-4670K 4.0GHz, SSDs, 16G RAM | Dell laptop E1505n, netbook 10n
    Oracle VBox w/ WinXP Pro running Xara Designer, PaintShopPro, and InDesign CS.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Beta Testing in Canada
    Beans
    5,423
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: workspace-switcher will indicate workspace on

    hahahahaheaheha!
    This is Rolling Release
    Warnings for New Beta Testers& Helpful Terminal Commands:
    Running Trusty /devel/@ 5.120GHz32bit/ Please put [ prefix] on New Threads!

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Arizona USA
    Beans
    2,800
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: workspace-switcher will indicate workspace on

    Quote Originally Posted by mc4man View Post
    The Ws will shortly show which Ws one is on But this will only work on the default 2X2 setting

    (myself use 1X4 & for the most part hide the launcher & use plank as ATM it's better featured than Unity launcher
    Quote Originally Posted by fjgaude View Post
    Wow, the Workplace Switcher is about all the cool I can take for one day.
    Bwahahahaha! Brilliant move!

    I use 3x3 LoL!

    And, yes, I *need* them.

    I'm working 4 Ws, right now, and the icon is showing 1...
    Last edited by VinDSL; December 6th, 2012 at 08:06 PM. Reason: Clarification
    Intel ® P4 Extreme Edition 3.4 (Gallatin) || DFI ® LanParty PRO875B rev B1
    Crucial ® Ballistix Tracer PC4000 1GB || Mountain Mods U2-UFO Opti-1203
    XFX 7600GT 560M AGP (PV-T73A-UDF3) || Corsair HX520W Modular PSU

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Beans
    12,905

    Re: workspace-switcher will indicate workspace on

    Quote Originally Posted by VinDSL View Post
    Bwahahahaha! Brilliant move!

    I use 3x3 LoL!

    And, yes, I *need* them.

    I'm working 4 Ws, right now, and the icon is showing 1...
    Things are done based on the default, after that chips fall where they may..
    The Ws icon whatever is based on position (top left, ect.) rather than # & the icon only has 4 area's anyway.
    (the not updated for a while 'indicator-workspace' (from a ppa) still works ok, needs a little help auto starting & not sure how it likes 3X3 though could be ok with wall.

    Here I've now gone with plank instead until the unity launcher grows up, if ever.
    (other than a built-in neutered spread it has all the UL has plus a fair bit more

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Arizona USA
    Beans
    2,800
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: workspace-switcher will indicate workspace on

    Here's one for you...

    Just got home from work -- gotta get up and go back in 3 hours.

    Reading your posts (above), I wondered if the 4 corners of my 3x3 setup would display in the icon. Soooo, I started going through the Ws in order, one-by-one, using the switcher. I got to W-5 and Unity hard-locked. LoL!

    Fortunately, I could still shell-out to console and reboot. Otherwise, I would have had to hit the power button, and risk the consequences -- haven't got time to fiddle around with Canonical nonsense, right now.

    Yes, indeed... brilliant move!
    Intel ® P4 Extreme Edition 3.4 (Gallatin) || DFI ® LanParty PRO875B rev B1
    Crucial ® Ballistix Tracer PC4000 1GB || Mountain Mods U2-UFO Opti-1203
    XFX 7600GT 560M AGP (PV-T73A-UDF3) || Corsair HX520W Modular PSU

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Beans
    12,905

    Re: workspace-switcher will indicate workspace on

    Quote Originally Posted by VinDSL View Post
    I wondered if the 4 corners of my 3x3 setup would display in the icon. Soooo, I started going through the Ws in order, one-by-one, using the switcher. I got to W-5 and Unity hard-locked. LoL!
    It's coded only to work with 2x2, little snippet


    if (hsize != 2 || vsize != 2)
    {
    icon_name = "workspace-switcher-top-left";
    screen_viewport_switch_ended_connection_.disconnec t();
    terminate_expo_connection_.disconnect();
    }
    else
    {
    UpdateIcon();
    ect.

    From source test

    TEST_F(TestExpoLauncherIcon, Icon2x2Layout)
    {
    EXPECT_EQ(icon.icon_name, "workspace-switcher-top-left");

    wm->SetCurrentViewport(nux:oint(1, 0));
    wm->screen_viewport_switch_ended.emit();
    EXPECT_EQ(icon.icon_name, "workspace-switcher-right-top");

    wm->SetCurrentViewport(nux:oint(0, 1));
    wm->screen_viewport_switch_ended.emit();
    EXPECT_EQ(icon.icon_name, "workspace-switcher-left-bottom");
    ect.ect.

    (finally did a fresh install of raring, 1st overall - must be a bug but noticed if I shutdown/restart with vlc open the reboot/login has vlc open
    (thought maybe some sort of session restore but so far only vlc...

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    ExodusHair<Čubura
    Beans
    3,830
    Distro
    Ubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

    Re: workspace-switcher will indicate workspace on

    Quote Originally Posted by VinDSL View Post
    Here's one for you...

    Just got home from work -- gotta get up and go back in 3 hours.

    Reading your posts (above), I wondered if the 4 corners of my 3x3 setup would display in the icon. Soooo, I started going through the Ws in order, one-by-one, using the switcher. I got to W-5 and Unity hard-locked. LoL!

    Fortunately, I could still shell-out to console and reboot. Otherwise, I would have had to hit the power button, and risk the consequences -- haven't got time to fiddle around with Canonical nonsense, right now.

    Yes, indeed... brilliant move!
    Wasn't restart od LightDM enough?

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Arizona USA
    Beans
    2,800
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: workspace-switcher will indicate workspace on

    Quote Originally Posted by zika View Post
    Wasn't restart od LightDM enough?
    Yeah, probably, but I'm running on fumes, you know?

    I just gave it the 3-finger salute, from console.

    That way, I can catch a few seconds sleep, while it's rebooting. LoL!
    Intel ® P4 Extreme Edition 3.4 (Gallatin) || DFI ® LanParty PRO875B rev B1
    Crucial ® Ballistix Tracer PC4000 1GB || Mountain Mods U2-UFO Opti-1203
    XFX 7600GT 560M AGP (PV-T73A-UDF3) || Corsair HX520W Modular PSU

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •