Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Moving to new computer

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Beans
    82

    Question Moving to new computer

    I've got a current install of 12.04 X64 bit Ubuntu Server running on a Dell Optiplex 755 Intel Quad Core Core2 setup. I'd like to move it to a Dell Precision T7500 with as little disruption to the existing structure as possible.

    I know Linux has a huge amount of hardware detection it does on bootup, but am I able to move the hard drive from the Optiplex directly into the Precision and call it good (I'm guessing not.) I know that won't work in the Windows world but I also know *nix beats them in almost every category so I"m not sure how likely this is.

    If not what is the best way to move installed packages (preferably with existing config if possible) ppa's and such to the new box.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Kentucky
    Beans
    567
    Distro
    Ubuntu

    Re: Moving to new computer

    Quote Originally Posted by CyberCowboy View Post
    I've got a current install of 12.04 X64 bit Ubuntu Server running on a Dell Optiplex 755 Intel Quad Core Core2 setup. I'd like to move it to a Dell Precision T7500 with as little disruption to the existing structure as possible.

    I know Linux has a huge amount of hardware detection it does on bootup, but am I able to move the hard drive from the Optiplex directly into the Precision and call it good (I'm guessing not.) I know that won't work in the Windows world but I also know *nix beats them in almost every category so I"m not sure how likely this is.

    If not what is the best way to move installed packages (preferably with existing config if possible) ppa's and such to the new box.
    As long as the processors are similar (both 64 bit, both AMD or both Intel) you should be good to go. I did this once and on the first boot after moving it, there was a ton of hardware detection, it rebooted, and then it was g2g.

    Edit: Any software that you compiled yourself will have to be re-compiled.
    "Civilization is the limitless multiplication of unnecessary necessities."
    -- Mark Twain

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    LOCATION=/dev/random
    Beans
    5,767
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: Moving to new computer

    It should just work. Even moving between Intel and AMD processors shouldn't be an issue. I've done this with desktop systems more times than I can recall.

    The only times you come across problems with moving an OS like this is when you have restricted drivers installed, usuall on a desktop system when moving from Nvidia to AMD graphics for example (but even this isn't really a problem if you remove the restricted drivers first).
    Cheesemill

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Beans
    82

    Re: Moving to new computer

    excellent, I'm not sure why I need a home server with (ultimately) 2 xeon quad core processors but since it does do transcoding on the fly I figured it'd be nice to have.

    Thanks again.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Beans
    82

    Re: Moving to new computer

    Erm didn't realize I hadn't mentioned I was going from a Core2 to a Xeon chip, but from what I'm reading in both your replies that shouldn't be an issue either correct?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    LOCATION=/dev/random
    Beans
    5,767
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: Moving to new computer

    That should be fine.
    Cheesemill

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •