Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: SERVERNAME Change

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    St. Louis
    Beans
    21
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.04 Lucid Lynx

    Post SERVERNAME Change

    Hello and thank you in advance...

    I just noticed that my development servers name have changed to SERVERNAME. That is...the prompt that used to say username@acme:~$ now says username@SERVERNAME:~$. I dont remember changing anything, but then again I may have. I am a newbie, so I am not really sure where this would be set.

    Again, I am a relative newbie to ubuntu so please be gentle.

    Thank you,

    dp

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    LOCATION=/dev/random
    Beans
    5,767
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: SERVERNAME Change

    Can you post the results of the following please:
    Code:
    echo $PS1
    hostname
    Cheesemill

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    St. Louis
    Beans
    21
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.04 Lucid Lynx

    Re: SERVERNAME Change

    Thank you for your response...

    Code:
    Last login: Mon Oct 15 15:23:06 2012 from 192.168.12.53
    dp@SERVERNAME:~$ echo $PS1
    \[\e]0;\u@\h: \w\a\]${debian_chroot:+($debian_chroot)}\u@\h:\w\$
    dp@SERVERNAME:~$ hostname
    SERVERNAME

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    LOCATION=/dev/random
    Beans
    5,767
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: SERVERNAME Change

    You've somehow changed the name of your system.
    To change it back you need to edit the /etc/hostname and /etc/hosts files and replace SERVERNAME with acme (or whatever the correct name is).
    Cheesemill

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •