Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: BURG will not change to widescreen 1366x768 - driver issue, or incorrect cfg?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Beans
    9
    Distro
    Ubuntu 8.04 Hardy Heron

    Question BURG will not change to widescreen 1366x768 - driver issue, or incorrect cfg?

    I'm on a laptop that dualboots W7 and 12.04. I installed BURG, but it doesn't seem to want to go into 1366x768 resolution, the full resolution of the laptop monitor. Running "vbeinfo" in the GRUB console doesn't show it as an option, and editing the configuration file and updating BURG does nothing.

    My laptop runs an Intel Integrated Graphics chip. (It's a Dell Inspiron n5110)

    What should I do?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Beans
    8

    Re: BURG will not change to widescreen 1366x768 - driver issue, or incorrect cfg?

    try downloading grub customizer and in the burg appearance settings change custom resolution as 1366x768x32 or u can edit GRUB_GFXMODE=1366x768x32 in /etc/default/burg

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Beans
    9
    Distro
    Ubuntu 8.04 Hardy Heron

    Re: BURG will not change to widescreen 1366x768 - driver issue, or incorrect cfg?

    I tried changing it to 1366x768x24 (all the others were x24), and it didn't work. In addition, burg-emu Displays it just fine.

    If GRUB was able to display in my display's full resolution, does that necessarily mean BURG will be able to?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Beans
    5,990

    Re: BURG will not change to widescreen 1366x768 - driver issue, or incorrect cfg?

    Does your GPU actually support a framebuffer with that resolution?

    From your desktop ress ctrl-alt-f1 to drop to a shell, login and enter,

    Code:
    sudo hwinfo --framebuffer
    If you don't have hwinfo installed then install it before running that command. ctrl-alt-f7 to get back

    Post the output here, you could try from a terminal on your desktop as well but I noticed I get different results from the desktop.

    Burg should be able to use the same resolution as grub but grub 'might' have been using a different soft framebuffer.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Beans
    9
    Distro
    Ubuntu 8.04 Hardy Heron

    Re: BURG will not change to widescreen 1366x768 - driver issue, or incorrect cfg?

    Here's the output of sudo hwinfo --framebuffer:

    Code:
    02: None 00.0: 11001 VESA Framebuffer
      [Created at bios.464]
      Unique ID: rdCR.ku_DuSHewh1
      Hardware Class: framebuffer
      Model: "Intel(R)Sandybridge Mobile Graphics Controller"
      Vendor: "Intel Corporation"
      Device: "Intel(R)Sandybridge Mobile Graphics Controller"
      SubVendor: "Intel(R)Sandybridge Mobile Graphics Chipset Accelerated VGA BIOS"
      SubDevice: 
      Revision: "Hardware Version 0.0"
      Memory Size: 63 MB + 960 kB
      Memory Range: 0xe0000000-0xe3feffff (rw)
      Mode 0x0305: 1024x768 (+1024), 8 bits
      Mode 0x0317: 1024x768 (+2048), 16 bits
      Mode 0x0318: 1024x768 (+4096), 24 bits
      Mode 0x0312: 640x480 (+2560), 24 bits
      Mode 0x0314: 800x600 (+1600), 16 bits
      Mode 0x0315: 800x600 (+3200), 24 bits
      Mode 0x0301: 640x480 (+640), 8 bits
      Mode 0x0303: 800x600 (+832), 8 bits
      Mode 0x0311: 640x480 (+1280), 16 bits
      Config Status: cfg=new, avail=yes, need=no, active=unknown
    In addition, the following was also output to the console after the execution of the command (but before the output was given), but didn't get written to the file.

    Code:
    process 6217: arguments to dbus_move_error() were incorrect, assertion "(dest) == NULL || !dbus_error_is_set ((dest))" failed in file ../../dbus/dbus-errors.c line 282.
    This is normally a bug in some application using the D-Bus library.
    libhal.c 3483 : Error unsubscribing to signals, error=The name org.freedesktop.Hal was not provided by any .service files
    So, it looks like it doesn't list 1366x768x24 in the modes. Is there any hope?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Beans
    5,990

    Re: BURG will not change to widescreen 1366x768 - driver issue, or incorrect cfg?

    Quote Originally Posted by hmmwhatsthisdo View Post
    Here's the output of sudo hwinfo --framebuffer:

    Code:
    02: None 00.0: 11001 VESA Framebuffer
      [Created at bios.464]
      Unique ID: rdCR.ku_DuSHewh1
      Hardware Class: framebuffer
      Model: "Intel(R)Sandybridge Mobile Graphics Controller"
      Vendor: "Intel Corporation"
      Device: "Intel(R)Sandybridge Mobile Graphics Controller"
      SubVendor: "Intel(R)Sandybridge Mobile Graphics Chipset Accelerated VGA BIOS"
      SubDevice: 
      Revision: "Hardware Version 0.0"
      Memory Size: 63 MB + 960 kB
      Memory Range: 0xe0000000-0xe3feffff (rw)
      Mode 0x0305: 1024x768 (+1024), 8 bits
      Mode 0x0317: 1024x768 (+2048), 16 bits
      Mode 0x0318: 1024x768 (+4096), 24 bits
      Mode 0x0312: 640x480 (+2560), 24 bits
      Mode 0x0314: 800x600 (+1600), 16 bits
      Mode 0x0315: 800x600 (+3200), 24 bits
      Mode 0x0301: 640x480 (+640), 8 bits
      Mode 0x0303: 800x600 (+832), 8 bits
      Mode 0x0311: 640x480 (+1280), 16 bits
      Config Status: cfg=new, avail=yes, need=no, active=unknown

    So, it looks like it doesn't list 1366x768x24 in the modes. Is there any hope?
    Did you do that from the desktop (X) or did you exit X with ctrl-alt-f1? Try it outside of X with sudo hwinfo --framebuffer >fb.txt this will create a text file in your home folder which you can then copy and paste the content of here.

    There might be hope with something called 'Uvesafb' but you would have to google it as I've never used it.

    Edit: Actually I'm not sure "Uvesafb' will work for burg as I think it only kicks in after burg/grub. Hopefully someone with more knowledge comes along with an answer.
    Last edited by mips; October 2nd, 2012 at 08:18 AM.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Beans
    9
    Distro
    Ubuntu 8.04 Hardy Heron

    Re: BURG will not change to widescreen 1366x768 - driver issue, or incorrect cfg?

    That was from outside of X. Though, the same result was produced when X was loaded and the command was fed into the Terminal.

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •