Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: AWN + Twinview - Specifying monitor for dock to load in?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    USA
    Beans
    348
    Distro
    Ubuntu 13.04 Raring Ringtail

    AWN + Twinview - Specifying monitor for dock to load in?

    Hi all,

    I recently setup a second monitor on ubuntu 8.04 using Twinview. Almost everything is working great now except that I have not been able to get AWN to appear on the right screen. I would like it to load on the right monitor, but it defaults to the left one instead, and so far I have not had any luck changing that.

    Any suggestions?

    Thanks,
    Keith
    Open.nfo

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Beans
    21

    Re: AWN + Twinview - Specifying monitor for dock to load in?

    Hello

    This is an old topic but ho well...

    Using nvidia twinview on Karmic and having the same problem.
    With two monitors I can't find a way to make my AWN dock to sit on my right monitor. It insists on appearing on my left screen which annoys me to no ends.
    Any ideas on how to fix that?

    Thanks

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Liverpool, United Kingdom
    Beans
    1,663
    Distro
    Ubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

    Wink Re: AWN + Twinview - Specifying monitor for dock to load in?

    You need to make the monitor on the right the Primary monitor.

    You'll need to do this as root, so follow these instructions.

    1 - Paste this command into terminal: gksudo nvidia-settings

    2 - Click on X Server Display Configuration

    3 - Click on the monitor that you wish to make the main monitor

    4 - Check the box stating Make This The Primary Display For The X Screen

    5 - Click Apply

    6 - Click Save To X Configuration File & press Quit

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Beans
    21

    Re: AWN + Twinview - Specifying monitor for dock to load in?

    Thank you for trying to help.

    Unfortunately, AWN doesn't seem to care about this box being checked or not.
    The login window as well as gnome-panel on the other hand do. They both appear on my primary display meaning my right screen.

    I believe it might be a AWN bug, and my research about it seem to prove me right so far.
    Playing with AWN advanced settings I found a "Force monitor mode" checkbox that enabled me to manually move AWN dock from my left monitor to the right one adjusting "Monitor X-offset" and "Monitor Y-offset"
    It seems to be a dirty workaround but so far it worked.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Beans
    116

    Re: AWN + Twinview - Specifying monitor for dock to load in?

    Thanks for the tip!
    Finally got my awn to work properly with the multimonitor setup.

    This is one crazy tweak, but it works as advertised.

    Thanks!

    Quote Originally Posted by lxme View Post
    Thank you for trying to help.

    Unfortunately, AWN doesn't seem to care about this box being checked or not.
    The login window as well as gnome-panel on the other hand do. They both appear on my primary display meaning my right screen.

    I believe it might be a AWN bug, and my research about it seem to prove me right so far.
    Playing with AWN advanced settings I found a "Force monitor mode" checkbox that enabled me to manually move AWN dock from my left monitor to the right one adjusting "Monitor X-offset" and "Monitor Y-offset"
    It seems to be a dirty workaround but so far it worked.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Indianapolis, IN
    Beans
    13
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.04 Lucid Lynx

    Re: AWN + Twinview - Specifying monitor for dock to load in?

    I just spent a few hours looking for a real solution to this problem, which doesn't require using AWN's force monitor setting or changing the primary monitor, even digging through the code; it turns out it's out there, but counterintuitive:

    (For the record, I'm using the latest 0.4.0 build from the awn-testing PPA.)

    Go into the preferences dialog, and go to the list of applets. Add the "AWN Preferences" applet. Drag it to whichever edge of whichever monitor you want AWN to be on, and it should automatically move there.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Beans
    10

    Re: AWN + Twinview - Specifying monitor for dock to load in?

    Thank you so much, was struggeling with the offset hack for a while, this is so much better!

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    USA
    Beans
    31
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.10 Maverick Meerkat

    Re: AWN + Twinview - Specifying monitor for dock to load in?

    Svtdragon, you're my hero!

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Wiesbaden, Germany
    Beans
    35

    Re: AWN + Twinview - Specifying monitor for dock to load in?

    It also can be achieved with gconf-tools, e.g.:

    Code:
    gconftool-2 --type bool --set /apps/instances/avant-window-navigator/panel-1/panel/monitor_force true
    gconftool-2 --type int --set /apps/instances/avant-window-navigator/panel-1/panel/monitor_x_offset 1280
    This is scriptable, and applies at once.

    Be aware, that there might be different gconf-paths for awn. Mine is in /apps/instances and panel-1/panel.

    Put the following script into your path and it will be accessible via Alt-F2:

    Moves awn to the current desktop:
    Code:
    move_awn
    Moves awn around:
    Code:
    move_awn X_OFFSET
    Code:
    sudo touch /usr/local/bin/move_awn
    sudo chmod 755 /usr/local/bin/move_awn
    sudo vim /usr/local/bin/move_awn
    Code:
    #!/bin/bash
    
    XOFFSET="${1}"
    
    [ "${XOFFSET}"="" ] && XOFFSET="0"
    
    if [ "${XOFFSET}"="0" ]
    then
            gconftool-2 --type bool --set /apps/instances/avant-window-navigator/panel-1/panel/monitor_force false
    else
            gconftool-2 --type bool --set /apps/instances/avant-window-navigator/panel-1/panel/monitor_force true
    fi
    
    gconftool-2 --type int --set /apps/instances/avant-window-navigator/panel-1/panel/monitor_x_offset ${XOFFSET}
    Hope this helps someone

  10. #10
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Beans
    7

    Re: AWN + Twinview - Specifying monitor for dock to load in?

    Quote Originally Posted by svtdragon View Post
    I just spent a few hours looking for a real solution to this problem, which doesn't require using AWN's force monitor setting or changing the primary monitor, even digging through the code; it turns out it's out there, but counterintuitive:

    (For the record, I'm using the latest 0.4.0 build from the awn-testing PPA.)

    Go into the preferences dialog, and go to the list of applets. Add the "AWN Preferences" applet. Drag it to whichever edge of whichever monitor you want AWN to be on, and it should automatically move there.
    I wish there were an upvote or something to make this thread more noticeable. This solved my problem!

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •