Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Problem using two monitors

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Beans
    6

    Problem using two monitors

    With the proprietary driver of my Radeon graphics card activated, I tried to set up a two-monitor display arrangement ("show same image in both monitors" unchecked), but the system gave the following error message:

    "Required virtual size (2560,1024) does not fit available size, min. 320,200 max. 1600,1600."

    Curiously, this problem does not occur when the Radeon driver is left unactivated.

    Is there a way to adjust those parameters that are causing a problem, so that I could set up a two-monitor desktop?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Xubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

    Re: Problem using two monitors

    Hello and welcome to the forums.

    Can you post the contents of your /etc/X11/xorg.conf file? There should be a section there about Virtual size. If not, we can try adding one.

    Reference link: https://wiki.ubuntu.com/X/Config/Res..._than_expected

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Beans
    6

    Re: Problem using two monitors

    Thank you for your advice. Here is the contents of xorg.conf:

    Section "Screen"
    Identifier "Default Screen"
    DefaultDepth 24
    EndSection

    Section "Module"
    Load "glx"
    EndSection


    I tried replacing the contents of the file with the code offered at your reference link, but it rendered the computer incapable of booting. The graphics card is a Radeon HD 4670. I would be grateful for further advice.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Xubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

    Re: Problem using two monitors

    Try this one:
    Code:
    Section "Screen"
       Identifier "Default Screen"
       DefaultDepth 24
       SubSection "Display"
          Virtual 2560 1024
       EndSubSection
    EndSection
    
    Section "Module"
       Load "glx"
    EndSection

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    New Zealand
    Beans
    440
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: Problem using two monitors

    I had this problem till yesterday I figured out you have to use the proprietary drivers setting tools, for me it looks like the attached picture.
    As you can see my normal screen config tools don't know the screens, the nvidia tool knows what to do.
    Use the proprietary driver screen settings software.
    Attached Images Attached Images

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Beans
    6

    Re: Problem using two monitors

    The proprietary driver screen settings software did the trick. Thanks for the tip.

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •