Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Mount partition as VirtualBox virtual hard disk

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Beans
    9

    Mount partition as VirtualBox virtual hard disk

    Hi, I am new here. I searched the forum before posting that, and I not really sure that the answer isn't here somewere. If this has been reposted/answered elsewere, this thread can be deleted.
    My question.
    Suppose I have a PC with dualboot ubuntu and Windows 7. Is it possible, when in ubuntu, to "mount" the partition of Windows 7 as the Virtual hard disk that VirtualBox needs, so I can access my Windows 7 workspace without restarting?
    If this is possible, how would the Windows OS react, when on reboot, it realizes that changes have been made on the drive by something other than itself?
    The question originates from this dilemma; I want to be able to test simple things such as apps or other stuff on windows without rebooting, but I also want to be able to run some games and DAWs on Windows, which is quite impossible, or so I read, through Virtual machines.
    The alternative is that I have two instances of Windows 7, one regular and one virtual, but this seems like a hassle. As a secondary question, are there alternatives to dual-booting?
    Thanks a lot.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Mauritius
    Beans
    56
    Distro
    Ubuntu 11.04 Natty Narwhal

    Re: Mount partition as VirtualBox virtual hard disk

    Quote Originally Posted by solid.aqua View Post
    Hi, I am new here. I searched the forum before posting that, and I not really sure that the answer isn't here somewere. If this has been reposted/answered elsewere, this thread can be deleted.
    My question.
    Suppose I have a PC with dualboot ubuntu and Windows 7. Is it possible, when in ubuntu, to "mount" the partition of Windows 7 as the Virtual hard disk that VirtualBox needs, so I can access my Windows 7 workspace without restarting?
    If this is possible, how would the Windows OS react, when on reboot, it realizes that changes have been made on the drive by something other than itself?
    The question originates from this dilemma; I want to be able to test simple things such as apps or other stuff on windows without rebooting, but I also want to be able to run some games and DAWs on Windows, which is quite impossible, or so I read, through Virtual machines.
    The alternative is that I have two instances of Windows 7, one regular and one virtual, but this seems like a hassle. As a secondary question, are there alternatives to dual-booting?
    Thanks a lot.
    Windows kernel isn't very dynamic, that is, once you install it on one type of hardware, you can't freely move it to other hardware. Unlike linux of course!

    However, it is possible to turn your windows installation into a virtual machine by tweaking a little bit. However, it is not guaranteed to work and can break the windows kernel, so, make a backup first.

    Here's a tutorial:
    Code:
    https://www.virtualbox.org/wiki/Migrate_Windows

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    The Shadow Gallery
    Beans
    6,807

    Re: Mount partition as VirtualBox virtual hard disk

    Quote Originally Posted by solid.aqua View Post
    Hi, I am new here. I searched the forum before posting that, and I not really sure that the answer isn't here somewere. If this has been reposted/answered elsewere, this thread can be deleted.
    My question.
    Suppose I have a PC with dualboot ubuntu and Windows 7. Is it possible, when in ubuntu, to "mount" the partition of Windows 7 as the Virtual hard disk that VirtualBox needs, so I can access my Windows 7 workspace without restarting?
    If this is possible, how would the Windows OS react, when on reboot, it realizes that changes have been made on the drive by something other than itself?
    The question originates from this dilemma; I want to be able to test simple things such as apps or other stuff on windows without rebooting, but I also want to be able to run some games and DAWs on Windows, which is quite impossible, or so I read, through Virtual machines.
    The alternative is that I have two instances of Windows 7, one regular and one virtual, but this seems like a hassle. As a secondary question, are there alternatives to dual-booting?
    Thanks a lot.
    It is possible but not recommended.

    I would recommend cloning your partition using clonezilla and then cloning it back into a virtual machine instead.

    Alot safer and you also have a backup of your partition at the same time

    The alternative to dual booting is virtualisation, or using Wine,crossover etc to run .exe. I personally prefer virtualisation.
    Feel Free to Bitcoin Tip: 135Rp4pwwYTHEJ4u8bxKaDQiC91N9LUoV2

    Backtrack - Giving machine guns to monkeys since 2006
    Kali-Linux - Adding a grenade launcher to the machine guns since 2013

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Beans
    9

    Re: Mount partition as VirtualBox virtual hard disk

    Quote Originally Posted by haqking View Post
    It is possible but not recommended.

    I would recommend cloning your partition using clonezilla and then cloning it back into a virtual machine instead.

    Alot safer and you also have a backup of your partition at the same time

    The alternative to dual booting is virtualisation, or using Wine,crossover etc to run .exe. I personally prefer virtualisation.
    How is it possible?
    And if I have two instances of windows, what happens with their licences?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    The Shadow Gallery
    Beans
    6,807

    Re: Mount partition as VirtualBox virtual hard disk

    Quote Originally Posted by solid.aqua View Post
    How is it possible?
    And if I have two instances of windows, what happens with their licences?
    HOWTO: https://forums.virtualbox.org/viewtopic.php?t=9697
    http://lifehacker.com/278015/turn-a-...irtual-machine
    http://www.rajatarya.com/website/tam...-virtualbox-vm

    Your VM would be a backup of your installation however you may need to reactivate using the menu provided
    Last edited by haqking; October 6th, 2011 at 12:43 PM.
    Feel Free to Bitcoin Tip: 135Rp4pwwYTHEJ4u8bxKaDQiC91N9LUoV2

    Backtrack - Giving machine guns to monkeys since 2006
    Kali-Linux - Adding a grenade launcher to the machine guns since 2013

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Beans
    9

    Re: Mount partition as VirtualBox virtual hard disk

    Quote Originally Posted by haqking View Post
    HOWTO: https://forums.virtualbox.org/viewtopic.php?t=9697
    http://lifehacker.com/278015/turn-a-...irtual-machine
    http://www.rajatarya.com/website/tam...-virtualbox-vm

    Your VM would be a backup of your installation however you may need to reactivate using the menu provided
    That's what I was looking for. Thanks a lot.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •