Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Am I the only one who loses Firefox' global menu sometimes?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    europe/germany
    Beans
    230
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Am I the only one who loses Firefox' global menu sometimes?

    Sometimes it's there, sometimes not. I can't really reproduce it. I wish I could, so that I could file a bug, but so?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Rome, Italy
    Beans
    2,184

    Re: Am I the only one who loses Firefox' global menu sometimes?

    Quote Originally Posted by Bazon View Post
    Sometimes it's there, sometimes not. I can't really reproduce it. I wish I could, so that I could file a bug, but so?
    I haven't seen this error but anyway I see a warning about dbus-menu service (needed by globalmenu) when I start firefox

    Code:
    $ firefox
    
    (firefox-bin:1846): LIBDBUSMENU-GTK-CRITICAL **: dbusmenu_menuitem_property_set_shortcut: assertion `gtk_accelerator_valid(key, modifier)' failed
    do you have any?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    europe/germany
    Beans
    230
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: Am I the only one who loses Firefox' global menu sometimes?

    Yes, I get exactly the same.

    Directly after starting, the global menu is most of the time there. I seem to lose it only after some time.

    I keep watching in the Terminal to see if there is anything related to that.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Beans
    88
    Distro
    Ubuntu Karmic Koala (testing)

    Re: Am I the only one who loses Firefox' global menu sometimes?

    Yep, that's happened to me. I think it's also happened with empathy once or twice...

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    India
    Beans
    1,246
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: Am I the only one who loses Firefox' global menu sometimes?

    What about synaptic? I have not seen a global menu yet for this application.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    green bay, wi
    Beans
    2,188
    Distro
    Lubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

    Lightbulb Re: Am I the only one who loses Firefox' global menu sometimes?

    yup it happens on my end periodically

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Bulgaria
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: Am I the only one who loses Firefox' global menu sometimes?

    Quote Originally Posted by rajeev1204 View Post
    What about synaptic? I have not seen a global menu yet for this application.
    It's not synaptic specific. Apps that you run as root don't use the global menu. I read somewhere that it was on purpose but don't remember why, it was months ago.

    On topic: yeah, my menus disappear every once in a while as well.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Leeds, UK
    Beans
    1,664
    Distro
    Ubuntu 13.10 Saucy Salamander

    Re: Am I the only one who loses Firefox' global menu sometimes?

    I've had it happen with Firefox and Geany. In some cases I think it comes back but I don't know a specific sequence of things that makes it do so.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Beans
    85
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: Am I the only one who loses Firefox' global menu sometimes?

    Firefox's appmenu is packaged independently, it has its own package different from the rest, so, it could be firefox-specific only bug.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Solihull, UK
    Beans
    1,413

    Re: Am I the only one who loses Firefox' global menu sometimes?

    No, it's not firefox specific. What you are seeing is bug 718926

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •