Page 1 of 6 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 810

Thread: Compiz-Check -- no more "Desktop effects could not be enabled"

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Cologne, Europe
    Beans
    2,570
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Compiz-Check -- no more "Desktop effects could not be enabled"

    Compiz-Check is a script to test if Compiz is able to run on your system/setup and if not, it will tell you the reason why.

    Additionally you can use the output of the script to look for support here, which will make it much easier to locate your problem.

    To post the output here, use the forum's [CODE] tag (# button)

    The test consists mainly of three parts:

    1. List relevant system information
    2. Run several Compiz related checks
    3. Check for problematic hardware and problems with the setup in use.

    So the output will eventually look like this:
    Code:
    Gathering information about your system...
    
     Distribution:          Ubuntu 8.04
     Desktop environment:   GNOME
     Graphics chip:         ATI Technologies Inc RV350 AR [Radeon 9600]
     Driver in use:         radeon
     Rendering method:      AIGLX
    
    Checking if it's possible to run Compiz on your system...
    
     Checking for texture_from_pixmap...               [ OK ]
     Checking for non power of two support...          [ OK ]
     Checking for composite extension...               [ OK ]
     Checking for FBConfig...                          [ OK ]
     Checking for hardware/setup problems...           [ OK ]
    If anything is OK like in this example, your system is most probably able to run Compiz.
    In case anything fails, in most cases you will be prompted a reason and ideally a hint how to solve the problem.

    Compiz-Check will not run Compiz for you, nor will it do any changes to your system (unless you specifically say so).


    Get it here and follow the instructions how to use it: http://forlong.blogage.de/article/pages/Compiz-Check

    You can find more about Compiz-Check and my original intention to write it here and here.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    tokyo
    Beans
    44
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: Compiz-Check -- no more "Desktop effects could not be enabled"

    BUMP

    This thread should be sticky.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Beans
    98

    Re: Compiz-Check -- no more "Desktop effects could not be enabled"

    Extra BUMP .. cause this is a really good program.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Saquarema - Brasil
    Beans
    142
    Distro
    Kubuntu 13.04 Raring Ringtail

    Re: Compiz-Check -- no more "Desktop effects could not be enabled"

    Bump

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Beans
    10
    Distro
    Ubuntu 9.10 Karmic Koala

    Re: Compiz-Check -- no more "Desktop effects could not be enabled"

    Bump... definitely sticky material
    (btw, nice blog forlong)

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Lelystad, Netherlands
    Beans
    104

    Question Re: Compiz-Check -- no more "Desktop effects could not be enabled"

    Thanks for this tool! I tried it when Compiz didn't work for me anymore, and it pointed out a problem (something about a composite manager already enabled in Gnome). After I let compiz-check fix it, I'm still not being able to run compiz. All the checks are returning fine, but compiz --replace will result in a 'aborting and using fallback: /usr/bin/metacity'. No furter errors are reported. Any ideas? I'm using the latest nvidia beta (173.08) on a 8800GT, which ran fine until yesterday.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Cologne, Europe
    Beans
    2,570
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: Compiz-Check -- no more "Desktop effects could not be enabled"

    Please post both the output of Compiz-Check and the one when running
    Code:
    compiz
    in a terminal.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Lelystad, Netherlands
    Beans
    104

    Re: Compiz-Check -- no more "Desktop effects could not be enabled"

    That's not going to be possible... Almost immediately after I posted this, I had a 'whatever'-moment and reinstalled Hardy. Since I was running on a system that was upgraded mulitple times I thought it was time for a cleanup. Now compiz works like a charm (using the restricted driver).

    Oh, the output from compiz-check was exactly like your first post, only with some nvidia stuff (grahpics chip: Nvidia 8800GT (or something like it), driver: nvidia, render method: NVIDIA). Compiz kept going back to metacity; even 'compiz --help' resulted in the metacity help (...)

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Beans
    2

    Re: Compiz-Check -- no more "Desktop effects could not be enabled"

    dhruv@dhruv:~$ compiz
    Checking for Xgl: not present.
    xset q doesn't reveal the location of the log file. Using fallback /var/log/Xorg.0.log
    Detected PCI ID for VGA:
    Checking for texture_from_pixmap: present.
    Checking for non power of two support: present.
    Checking for Composite extension: present.
    Checking screen 1Comparing resolution (1280x800) to maximum 3D texture size (4096): Passed.
    Checking for Software Rasterizer: Not present.
    Checking for nVidia: present.
    Checking for FBConfig: present.
    running under gnome seesion, checking for gnomecompat
    Checking for Xgl: not present.
    Starting gtk-window-decorator
    /usr/bin/compiz.real (video) - Warn: No 8 bit GLX pixmap format, disabling YV12 image format
    /usr/bin/compiz.real (cube) - Warn: Failed to load slide: /usr/share/gdm/themes/Human/ubuntu.png
    ^C

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    New Port Richey, FL, USA
    Beans
    60
    Distro
    Ubuntu Studio 13.04 Raring Ringtail

    Re: Compiz-Check -- no more "Desktop effects could not be enabled"

    Here's my compiz-check output:

    Gathering information about your system...

    Distribution: Ubuntu 8.04
    Desktop environment: KDE
    Graphics chip: ATI Technologies Inc Radeon R100 QD [Radeon 7200]
    Driver in use: radeon
    Rendering method: Xgl

    Checking if it's possible to run Compiz on your system...

    Checking for texture_from_pixmap... [SKIP]
    Checking for non power of two support... [SKIP]
    Checking for composite extension... [ OK ]
    Checking for FBConfig... [SKIP]
    Checking for hardware/setup problems... [SKIP]

    Apparently my Radeon card is too old for the current fglrx driver. I don't see a hint of a driver installed when sudo lshw and lsmod makes no mention of fglrx or r200 but does show drm in a line with radeon. Would like to try the r200 driver haven't had success downloading it.

Page 1 of 6 123 ... LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •