Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: Problem with Compiler

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Beans
    10

    Problem with Compiler

    I did a search and couldn't find any other threads related to this; i've been getting an error while trying to compile a source file. It reads: cc: installation problem, cannot exec `cc1plus': No such file or directory . Can someone tell me what this means, and how I can get it to work?
    Thanks

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Waterloo - ON, Canada
    Beans
    41

    Re: Problem with Compiler

    Are you trying to compile a c++ file? If so then have you installed the g++ extensions to gcc? This could be your problem...

  3. #3

    Re: Problem with Compiler

    According to the gcc manpage, `cc1plus' is a program used to perform an additional pre-processing step after normal pre-processing but before compiling. It is specified using the -B flag after using the -no-integrated-cpp flag. Apparently, you normally don't have to worry about this and just let cpp do the work for you.

    This type of problem can sometimes be fixed by installing the g++ package. By default it wasn't installed with my system, so maybe the problem is that you don't have g++.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Adelaide, Australia
    Beans
    340

    Re: Problem with Compiler

    If one of the above posts doesn't solve your problem, it will help if you post the command line which you are using to compile the file.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Beans
    10

    Re: Problem with Compiler

    Quote Originally Posted by toojays
    If one of the above posts doesn't solve your problem, it will help if you post the command line which you are using to compile the file.
    Oh, sorry: cc prog1.cpp

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Adelaide, Australia
    Beans
    340

    Re: Problem with Compiler

    Does it work if you do "c++ prog1.cpp"?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Beans
    10

    Re: Problem with Compiler

    Quote Originally Posted by toojays
    Does it work if you do "c++ prog1.cpp"?
    Nope, the same problem occurs.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •