Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: Possible conflicting wireless cards

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Beans
    27

    Possible conflicting wireless cards

    Here's the problem. I have three laptops: HP G7 with broadcom 4313 (Ubuntu 12.04), HP Probook with broadcom 4313 (Mint 14), HP DV6000 with broadcom 4311 (Mint14). The G7 and DV6000 have no trouble. However the Probook is extremely slow on the internet, until I disconnect the G7. Then the probook connection works perfectly. The Probook and the G7 both have 4313 cards. I tried moving one to the other end of the house to see if it changed anything and it didn't. In the router they do have different IP addresses. Hope I explained this clearly because I could sure use some help to sort this out. Thanks. Almost forgot. All three are using bcmwl-kernel-source driver. AKA(wl.ko)

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Ohio
    Beans
    71
    Distro
    Ubuntu 13.04 Raring Ringtail

    Re: Possible conflicting wireless cards

    Quote Originally Posted by jack454 View Post
    Here's the problem. I have three laptops: HP G7 with broadcom 4313 (Ubuntu 12.04), HP Probook with broadcom 4313 (Mint 14), HP DV6000 with broadcom 4311 (Mint14). The G7 and DV6000 have no trouble. However the Probook is extremely slow on the internet, until I disconnect the G7. Then the probook connection works perfectly. The Probook and the G7 both have 4313 cards. I tried moving one to the other end of the house to see if it changed anything and it didn't. In the router they do have different IP addresses. Hope I explained this clearly because I could sure use some help to sort this out. Thanks. Almost forgot. All three are using bcmwl-kernel-source driver. AKA(wl.ko)
    Off hand I would think you have a packet storm going on. The G7 might be flooding things? Go get Etherape or IPTraf and put it on the G7 machine. Then examine ...
    One thing you didn't say mention is if the ethernet is hard connected and not wirelessly connected? When you do, is the problem still there?
    Can you switch the wireless cards and see if the DV6000 then becomes the issue?
    Warprunner
    This is one race of people for whom psychoanalysis is of no use whatsoever.
    ...Sigmund Freud (about the Irish)

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Beans
    27

    Re: Possible conflicting wireless cards

    All systems are using wireless. Haven't got a cable to try hard wiring, however I have tried a usb wireless on the G7 and everything works fine. The Probook connection is still Ok. Will have to try swapping the DV6000 and G7 cards. Thanks for the help so far.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Ohio
    Beans
    71
    Distro
    Ubuntu 13.04 Raring Ringtail

    Re: Possible conflicting wireless cards

    Without sounding too premature... sounds like that G7 has a bad card but will await your troubleshooting.
    Warprunner
    This is one race of people for whom psychoanalysis is of no use whatsoever.
    ...Sigmund Freud (about the Irish)

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Beans
    27

    Re: Possible conflicting wireless cards

    Well I can't swap wireless cards among these laptops because HP whitelists the hardware and if it isn't the exact part number you get an error on boot. (Unsupported wireless device detected system halt) Isn't that nice of them? I for got to say the problem just started yesterday. These units have been sitting a few feet apart and working fine for weeks. Is it possible for a router to cause this? Thanks
    Last edited by jack454; January 31st, 2013 at 02:22 AM.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Ohio
    Beans
    71
    Distro
    Ubuntu 13.04 Raring Ringtail

    Re: Possible conflicting wireless cards

    Quote Originally Posted by jack454 View Post
    Well I can't swap wireless cards among these laptops because HP whitelists the hardware and if it isn't the exact part number you get an error on boot. (Unsupported wireless device detected system halt) Isn't that nice of them? I for got to say the problem just started yesterday. These units have been sitting a few feet apart and working fine for weeks. Is it possible for a router to cause this? Thanks
    Ok here is a long shot... go here to see your channel of the G7 machines card.
    http://askubuntu.com/questions/56622...and-or-channel

    Then go here to change it:
    http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=1630584

    I think the default is Auto select and as I said this is a long shot. But maybe, just maybe, they are talking on the same channel and somehow getting confused? (Said it was a long shot.)

    Still think the best thing is to get an ethernet cable. They usually come with every machine.
    Last edited by Warprunner; January 31st, 2013 at 02:51 AM. Reason: Missed a link
    Warprunner
    This is one race of people for whom psychoanalysis is of no use whatsoever.
    ...Sigmund Freud (about the Irish)

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •