Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: 12.04 won' t connect to update

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Buenos Aires, Argentina
    Beans
    128
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    12.04 won' t connect to update

    Ok, so below you can find the output of sudo apt-get dist-upgrade, sudo apt-get update, and sudo apt-get -f update.

    http://pastebin.com/h9LazKpF

    Hope you can help. I also have the stop sign on the upper notification area. It says that an error occurred. Actually system froze during an update a week ago or so. Current error says: 'Error: Opening the cache. (E: read error - read (5: Input/output error), E: The packages lists or status files could not be read or parsed.'
    Error continued, but right now it has disappeared, so I cannot explain completely what it said.

    Any help? Thanks in advanced.
    Last edited by ivotkl; December 19th, 2012 at 04:04 PM.
    Using Ubuntu since 9.04, loving it since 2010. Still trying to fully understand it. My boxes' HW specs

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Metro-ATL
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Lubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: 12.04 won' t connect to update

    Quote Originally Posted by ivotkl View Post
    Ok, so below you can find the output of sudo apt-get dist-upgrade, sudo apt-get update, and sudo apt-get -f update.

    http://pastebin.com/h9LazKpF

    Hope you can help. I also have the stop sign on the upper notification area. It says that an error occurred. Actually system froze during an update a week ago or so. Current error says: 'Error: Opening the cache. (E: read error - read (5: Input/output error), E: The packages lists or status files could not be read or parsed.'
    Error continued, but right now it has disappeared, so I cannot explain completely what it said.

    Any help? Thanks in advanced.
    First, it seems you are running the update commands out of order. ORDER IS important.
    * update
    * dist-upgrade

    Since the repositories are not accessible, have you checked that you can reach them using non-APT methods? Can you ping those servers? Can you ping any internet servers from that box? Fixing this issue is important.

    Third, it seems there is some sort of corruption in your APT. That can be logical or physical. I'd try to figure out if it is physical, since THAT would be really bad. Run an fsck on the /var partition - that might be / on your box - I can't tell. Running fsck cannot be done on an mounted partition, so booting off a rescue CD and running it is an option. OR you could drop a /forcefsck into the root directory and reboot. In theory, the existence of that file will force an fsck at the next boot.

    Ok, if that comes back fine or corrects issues, I'd check if there is any space left on the device. If not, correct the problem before continuing. That could mean replacing a disk controller or HDD.

    There are 2 types of space, use df to check for both.
    * df -k /
    * df -i /
    Assuming you aren't out of storage OR i-nodes, continue, otherwise, correct the out-of-storage problem.

    Logical corruption of the APT repository can be ugly. I'd clean and autoclean the repo.
    * sudo apt-get autoclean
    * sudo apt-get clean
    Then try your update/dist-upgrade again.
    Hopefully, these steps make everything fine. If not, I'd look for an APT troubleshooter wiki article. It might just be easier to restore from a backup that happened the day prior to experiencing this issue. Backups rock, especially for things like this.

    BTW, I loved Argentina. Need to find an excuse to get back there.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Buenos Aires, Argentina
    Beans
    128
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: 12.04 won' t connect to update

    TheFu:
    First of all, thank you very much for your quick reply. I' ll try my best to answer your requests.



    1 - update, dist-upgrade, autoclean & clean

    Code:
    sudo apt-get update
    http://pastebin.com/BgATwdcs

    Code:
    sudo apt-get dist-upgrade
    http://pastebin.com/YJn6wU9b

    Code:
    sudo apt-get autoclean && sudo apt-get clean && sudo apt-get update && sudo apt-get dist-upgrade
    http://pastebin.com/5ZJs0PJF



    2 - About fsck and df

    I' ve never used this commands before, so I hope below output is what you need.

    Code:
    fsck /var
    http://pastebin.com/1TzFDiu8

    Code:
    df -k / && df -i /
    http://pastebin.com/A4CuqpgU



    3 - PS and offtopics

    PS: Let me know if I there' s something I can do to fix it. Thank you in advanced.

    I love my country too, hehe. However, I would love to make a trip around US if I had the chance and visit places such as the Great Canyon in CO and Sequoia trees.
    Using Ubuntu since 9.04, loving it since 2010. Still trying to fully understand it. My boxes' HW specs

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Metro-ATL
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Lubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: 12.04 won' t connect to update

    The 'df' commands show that you aren't out of space. That would have been the easiest problem to fix. Too bad.

    The 'fsck /var' isn't what we needed. On your system, /var is just a directory. 'fsck' works on partitions, so you need to figure out which partition /var resides on. /dev/sda6 is the most likely place, but you need to boot off another device (probably a rescue CD or the CD/flash drive that was used to install the OS) before you run it. Here's the command.
    $ sudo fsck /dev/sda6
    The sudo is not needed if you are running as root.

    The update is still having the same issue. Are you absolutely positive that repository should have those files? I am not.

    The dist-upgrade seems to be working as it should, assuming those missing repositories are not available. I don't see any issue besides that. Did you follow the instructions to remove the duplicate sources as the output from the command suggested? If you care about the warning messages, then to remove those, you need to remove the duplicate lines.

    I connected to ftp://ftp.ccc.uba.ar and looked around. Could they have reorganized their FTP site a little? ftp://ftp.ccc.uba.ar/pub/linux/ubuntu/dists/precise/ seems to be where things are now. I'd try fixing the FTP prefix to use that (as needed) in /etc/apt/sources* It appears to me they just added a /pub/ level. Perhaps not. Seems the duplicate area is using that already.

    BTW, I prefer to have 1 pastebin with everything. To me, it seems that a little clean up of the sources is desired. No major concerns.

    It might be helpful to understand the different apt-get commands. update, upgrade, dist-upgrade better. http://techhamlet.com/2012/02/ubuntu...-dist-upgrade/ explains the differences nicely.

    In short, I wouldn't worry too much about these warning, so doing nothing is also an option.

    Off topic: I love traveling, 18 countries so far. The world is too big to see everything, but I have to try. I've seen sequoias, but haven't been to the Grand Canyon http://www.nps.gov/grca/index.htm (in Arizona). Those are excellent choices. The Canyonlands NP in Utah http://www.nps.gov/cany/index.htm would be good to add too. There are wonders all over the USA. I've seen many, but still have many more to go.

    There is so much in Argentina that I didn't have time (or money) to see. Got to see BsAs, Tigre, and Iguazú Falls. Missing Salta and Patagona bothered me at the time. Plus the Spanish accents of the porteños was very difficult for me to understand. I still really miss the pizza from El Cuartito. We had an apartment off Libertad y Av Santa Fe just a few blocks away. Nowhere else in the world does the pizza compare. I've looked.

    Still, no place is perfect.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Segur De Calafell, Spain
    Beans
    11,660
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: 12.04 won' t connect to update

    Also, try changing the server you are using for updates. You can find it in Software Centre, Software Sources. It should be on the Updates tab or similar.

    As mentioned, take a look at those doubled entries too, just to get rid of the warnings.
    Darko.
    -----------------------------------------------------------------------
    Ubuntu 12.04 LTS 64bit & Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Buenos Aires, Argentina
    Beans
    128
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: 12.04 won' t connect to update

    Ok, first of all and once again, thank you (in this case both) for the help.

    1 - About learning upgrade commands and stuff.

    Quote Originally Posted by snowpine View Post
    "apt-get upgrade" will never add/remove any packages from your system. (similar to "aptitude safe-upgrade")

    "apt-get dist-upgrade" will add/remove packages if necessary. (similar to "aptitude full-upgrade")

    Example: an updated kernel is available. "dist-upgrade" will give you the new kernel; "upgrade" will not.

    I personally use only "dist-upgrade." It is the command-line equivalent of what the GUI Update Manager does.
    That post made my day. Thread can be found here and was created by the owner of http://techhamlet.com/.


    2 - About changing server

    I have used US server. Even though that server gave me no errors, it was 4 times or more as slow. I know it is understandable because of the distance and blah blah blah, but still...
    Anyway, I've paid attention to what it said about UBA's server here and apparently there is no such file or directory if I use /pub extension.
    So, I've commented those entries out and restored the ones I had and results was similar.
    Now, I've finally left only US server and there was no mistake besides duplicate entries. I was able to eliminate them. And, voila! No mistakes. However, I would like to go back to Argentinian server and get rid of those errors. I've surfed their site a bit and correct etc/apt/source* entry would be something like "deb ftp://ftp.ccc.uba.ar/pub/linux/ubuntu/dists/precise/ main restricted multiverse universe"


    3 - About fsck

    Is it still necessary? I do not understand what it does exactly. Does it stand for File System Check? Would /forcefsck /dev/sda6 be the correct command?
    Ok, I've read manual page and it says "fsck is used to check and optionally repair one or more Linux filesystems.". Hence, I seem to be right about fsck meaning.


    Off topic: I work near Santa Fe and Laprida, which is around 15-25 blocks from the apartment you rented. I've also tried El Cuartito's pizza, but I personally don't find it thaaaaaaaaat good. Oh, and you should definitely go to Mendoza, Santa Cruz and Ushuaia. Perhaps also Islas Malvinas. (No, Falkland Islands will never be their name and I refuse to call them like that).

    Relevant Edits / outcomes

    I've realised I've entered wrong information on sources.list file. Correct input would be "deb ftp://ftp.ccc.uba.ar/pub/linux/ubuntu precise main restricted multiverse universe" and "deb-src ftp://ftp.ccc.uba.ar/pub/linux/ubuntu precise main restricted multiverse universe".

    No errors now when doing apt-get update or dist-upgrade. Will mark it as completed after fsck command output is completed.

    Ok, so fsck command gave me the following output:
    Code:
    sudo fsck -R /dev/sda6
    fsck from util-linux-ng 2.16
    e2fsck 1.41.9 (22-Aug-2009)
    /dev/sda6: clean, 242637/524288 files, 1323867/2096466 blocks
    It was done with an Ubuntu 9.10 live CD.
    Last edited by ivotkl; December 28th, 2012 at 12:54 PM. Reason: Adding off topic stuff and fsck part.
    Using Ubuntu since 9.04, loving it since 2010. Still trying to fully understand it. My boxes' HW specs

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •