Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Is WUBI worth it?

Hybrid View

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

Is WUBI worth it?

I know the developers don't read this and it's not a Canonical forum, but the topic is Ubuntu-related and I'm curious about the thoughts of forum members.

Soooo many of the posts pleading for help seem to come from new users who have installed with WUBI that I've lost count. WUBI is meant to make it easier for Windows users to try Ubuntu, but does it do more harm than good? What happens when trials turns into tribulations? Are the problems even a representative sample? I've no experience with WUBI so have no idea how well-behaved it is, but looking through the sour experiences on these threads is kind of depressing.

Beans
    Distro
    Lubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

Re: Is WUBI worth it?

I can't say why, but I don't like WUBI as a concept.
    de gustibus et coloribus non est disputandum -- Wiktionary

Beans

First, I'd say that threads on these forums are never a representative sample. This is a support forum, and by definition people don't post here until there is a problem. For every person who posts here reporting a problem, there may be 100, 50, 10 , 2, or 0 people who didn't have that problem; we'd never know.

As for WUBI, there is the concept, and there is the implementation. Implementations always have problems, and they usually tend to fix those problems over time. The real question is whether the fundamental concept is worth it. I'm not sure if it is.

Consider the problem: someone who is not terribly techy, but wants to try Linux on his Windows computer. His options are:

** Boot to the liveCD or LiveUSB image