Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: discontinuous recording

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Beans
    8

    discontinuous recording

    Hi there,
    i'm new in this forum and i hope some1 of you can help me.
    I have installed ubuntu studio 12.04 on an acer aspire 1623LMi and i'm producing my music, but when i use ardour to record my guitar or my voice (or anything plugged on the line in plug) the record is discontinuous. I thought it was a problem of old hardware but sometimes in the past it worked well.
    Sure of your interest,

    tx in advance,
    maspis

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Beans
    592

    Re: discontinuous recording

    Hello there.

    Do you get any Xruns or odd output in the "messages" window of Qjackctl?

    Also could you clarify what you mean by discontinuous? Does it stop all together or does it drop in and out?

    Does it happen using other software?

    Cheers

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Beans
    8

    Re: discontinuous recording

    hi sylos.
    tx for your reply.
    My problem is, for instance, that when i record the voice i start recording and singing but ardour records for few seconds then it doesn't record anymore for some seconds, then it captures the voice again. It seems to me something about a record buffer...
    anyway this happens with ardour with or without qjacktl. I have no xruns neither odd messages in qjacktl and if i try to record with audacity it works well...
    Audio drivers to be updated or what?
    I hope you can help me.

    M

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Beans
    592

    Re: discontinuous recording

    Well if its working with Audacity then I would say that you can rule out hardware failure as the cause.

    I assume you have checked to make sure Ardour isnt set to Punch In/Punch Out?

    Also have you checked that your Jack settings are right for your soundcard (correct Periods/frames etc)?

    You could try updating your Adrour - maybe even try the Ardour 3 Beta that is available from the website:

    http://ardour.org/node/5351

    You should be able to install it from the file downloaded without removing your current ardour 2 build (they do say not to use the beta on old projects as you might loose work if it fails).

    Could you post up some specs on your hardware and soundcard?

    Cheers

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Beans
    8

    Re: discontinuous recording

    hi sylos.

    as i told you i have an acer aspire 1623LMi, pentium 4 3.2ghz, 3x256MB DDR333 SDRAM, HDD 60GB Ultra ATA/100 (half is for windows and 1GB is for the swap but i never see that ubuntu use it).
    about audio integrated card, if i use the command "sudo lshw"
    i find:
    *-multimedia
    description: Multimedia audio controller
    product: IXP150 AC'97 Audio Controller
    vendor: Hynix Semiconductor (Hyundai Electronics)
    physical id: 14.5
    bus info: pci@0000:00:14.5
    version: 00
    width: 32 bits
    clock: 66MHz
    capabilities: bus_master
    configuration: driver=snd_atiixp latency=64 mingnt=2
    resources: irq:17 memory:d8004400-d80044ff

    hope this can help you.
    tx again

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Beans
    592

    Re: discontinuous recording

    Quote Originally Posted by maspis View Post
    hi sylos.

    as i told you i have an acer aspire 1623LMi, pentium 4 3.2ghz, 3x256MB DDR333 SDRAM, HDD 60GB Ultra ATA/100 (half is for windows and 1GB is for the swap but i never see that ubuntu use it).
    about audio integrated card, if i use the command "sudo lshw"
    i find:
    *-multimedia
    description: Multimedia audio controller
    product: IXP150 AC'97 Audio Controller
    vendor: Hynix Semiconductor (Hyundai Electronics)
    physical id: 14.5
    bus info: pci@0000:00:14.5
    version: 00
    width: 32 bits
    clock: 66MHz
    capabilities: bus_master
    configuration: driver=snd_atiixp latency=64 mingnt=2
    resources: irq:17 memory:d8004400-d80044ff

    hope this can help you.
    tx again
    Cant see anything prohibitive in terms of your spec. Could you try the following:

    Open a terminal and start ardour

    Code:
    ardour2
    Then try and do your recording. When it drops in and out look at the terminal output and copy and paste it up here on the forum. You will need to leave ardour open whilst you do this (if you close ardour the terminal window will disappear). Hopefully the output will shed some light on the situation.

    Cheers

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •