Results 1 to 10 of 29

Thread: Select desktop environment not working - Ubuntu 12.10

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Canary Islands, Spain
    Beans
    126
    Distro
    Ubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

    Exclamation Select desktop environment not working - Ubuntu 12.10

    Hello,

    I installed Ubuntu 12.10 x32 and after that I installed the Gnome Shell Desktop Environment but when I log out and try to change to Gnome I see the option but I cannot select it, it doesn't work.

    Anybody having the same problem?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Dallas, Texas
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu Studio 12.10 Quantal Quetzal

    Re: Select desktop environment not working - Ubuntu 12.10

    I just installed Gnome, and what you have to do is select the desktop environment, then click OK. Log in, and you should have it.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Canary Islands, Spain
    Beans
    126
    Distro
    Ubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

    Re: Select desktop environment not working - Ubuntu 12.10

    I installed Gnome successfully through the Software Center. Short after the instalacion it asked me what gdm I wanted and I left the default option "lightgdm" Then I logged out and in the logging screen, before writing my password I try to change to Gnome but I cannot select it, the list of the other desktops environments that I have installed appear but I cannot select any of them.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Dallas, Texas
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu Studio 12.10 Quantal Quetzal

    Re: Select desktop environment not working - Ubuntu 12.10

    Did you just log out, or did you restart? If you just logged out, try completely restarting, then try to select it, then OK, then your password.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Canary Islands, Spain
    Beans
    126
    Distro
    Ubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

    Re: Select desktop environment not working - Ubuntu 12.10

    I tried logging out, restarting the computer and even turning it off. The only thing I haven't tried is to uninstall and reinstall it again.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Dallas, Texas
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu Studio 12.10 Quantal Quetzal

    Re: Select desktop environment not working - Ubuntu 12.10

    Then I am at a complete loss. You might try uninstalling then reinstalling the environment.

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •