Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: Trying to get my raid to mount on startup Tell me if this is correct?

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Beans
    51

    Question Trying to get my raid to mount on startup Tell me if this is correct?

    I want my raid drive to mount at startup. Right now it behaves like an external drive, I have to click on the icon after start up to get it to mount and it asks for a password each time. Can I get around this with this command sda1 or sda5 I am not sure? gvfs-mount -d /dev/sda1




    cat /etc/mtab
    /dev/sda1 / ext4 rw,errors=remount-ro 0 0
    proc /proc proc rw,noexec,nosuid,nodev 0 0
    sysfs /sys sysfs rw,noexec,nosuid,nodev 0 0
    none /sys/fs/fuse/connections fusectl rw 0 0
    none /sys/kernel/debug debugfs rw 0 0
    none /sys/kernel/security securityfs rw 0 0
    udev /dev devtmpfs rw,mode=0755 0 0
    devpts /dev/pts devpts rw,noexec,nosuid,gid=5,mode=0620 0 0
    tmpfs /run tmpfs rw,noexec,nosuid,size=10%,mode=0755 0 0
    none /run/lock tmpfs rw,noexec,nosuid,nodev,size=5242880 0 0
    none /run/shm tmpfs rw,nosuid,nodev 0 0
    rpc_pipefs /run/rpc_pipefs rpc_pipefs rw 0 0
    nfsd /proc/fs/nfsd nfsd rw 0 0
    /dev/sdc1 /media/FreeAgent\040GoFlex\040Drive fuseblk rw,nosuid,nodev,allow_other,default_permissions,bl ksize=4096 0 0

    /dev/sda1: UUID="d80b81b8-3030-46e4-b2e7-b70e802f5281" TYPE="ext4"
    /dev/sda5: UUID="53036505-44bb-4009-b519-bffe4324d5ff" TYPE="swap"
    /dev/sdc1: LABEL="FreeAgent GoFlex Drive" UUID="E6404B75404B4B8D" TYPE="ntfs"
    /dev/sdb1: UUID="3d6c407c-1527-4fcf-866f-50384add4c01" TYPE="ext2"

    # <file system> <mount point> <type> <options> <dump> <pass>
    proc /proc proc nodev,noexec,nosuid 0 0
    # / was on /dev/sda1 during installation
    UUID=d80b81b8-3030-46e4-b2e7-b70e802f5281 / ext4 errors=remount-ro 0 1
    # swap was on /dev/sda5 during installation
    UUID=53036505-44bb-4009-b519-bffe4324d5ff none swap sw 0 0

    mount
    /dev/sda1 on / type ext4 (rw,errors=remount-ro)
    proc on /proc type proc (rw,noexec,nosuid,nodev)
    sysfs on /sys type sysfs (rw,noexec,nosuid,nodev)
    none on /sys/fs/fuse/connections type fusectl (rw)
    none on /sys/kernel/debug type debugfs (rw)
    none on /sys/kernel/security type securityfs (rw)
    udev on /dev type devtmpfs (rw,mode=0755)
    devpts on /dev/pts type devpts (rw,noexec,nosuid,gid=5,mode=0620)
    tmpfs on /run type tmpfs (rw,noexec,nosuid,size=10%,mode=0755)
    none on /run/lock type tmpfs (rw,noexec,nosuid,nodev,size=5242880)
    none on /run/shm type tmpfs (rw,nosuid,nodev)
    rpc_pipefs on /run/rpc_pipefs type rpc_pipefs (rw)
    nfsd on /proc/fs/nfsd type nfsd (rw)
    /dev/sdc1 on /media/FreeAgent GoFlex Drive type fuseblk (rw,nosuid,nodev,allow_other,default_permissions,b lksize=4096)
    /dev/sdb1 on /media/3d6c407c-1527-4fcf-866f-50384add4c01__ type ext2 (rw,nosuid,nodev,uhelper=udisks)

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Christchurch, NZ
    Beans
    3,239

    Re: Trying to get my raid to mount on startup Tell me if this is correct?

    What is this "raid drive"? How does it plug into the system.

    Looks like it might be an external plug in (usb?) drive? Which device is it in your output? I suspect the freeagent drive, but you just aren't being specific, despite my earlier requests in your other threads for you to be specific.

    Anyway, I believe external drives are best mounted by finding the UUID and then putting an entry in /etc/fstab.

    tell us definitely which device (/dev/sd??) you are trying to mount and the output of
    Code:
    sudo blkid
    and I'll tell you what to put in /etc/fstab.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Beans
    51

    Re: Trying to get my raid to mount on startup Tell me if this is correct?

    Quote Originally Posted by nickrout View Post
    What is this "raid drive"? How does it plug into the system.

    Looks like it might be an external plug in (usb?) drive? Which device is it in your output? I suspect the freeagent drive, but you just aren't being specific, despite my earlier requests in your other threads for you to be specific.

    Anyway, I believe external drives are best mounted by finding the UUID and then putting an entry in /etc/fstab.

    tell us definitely which device (/dev/sd??) you are trying to mount and the output of
    Code:
    sudo blkid
    and I'll tell you what to put in /etc/fstab.
    /dev/sda1: UUID="d80b81b8-3030-46e4-b2e7-b70e802f5281" TYPE="ext4"
    /dev/sda5: UUID="53036505-44bb-4009-b519-bffe4324d5ff" TYPE="swap"
    /dev/sdb1: LABEL="FreeAgent GoFlex Drive" UUID="E6404B75404B4B8D" TYPE="ntfs"
    /dev/sdc1: UUID="3d6c407c-1527-4fcf-866f-50384add4c01" TYPE="ext2"


    This is an internal 8 drive raid 5 PCI card setup

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Christchurch, NZ
    Beans
    3,239

    Re: Trying to get my raid to mount on startup Tell me if this is correct?

    so I'll ask again, please pay attention.

    Which drive is the RAID drive?

    /dev/sdb1 or /dev/sdc1.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Beans
    51

    Re: Trying to get my raid to mount on startup Tell me if this is correct?

    Quote Originally Posted by nickrout View Post
    so I'll ask again, please pay attention.

    Which drive is the RAID drive?

    /dev/sdb1 or /dev/sdc1.
    I am sorry nick it is sdc1

    I dont know what /dev/sda5: is I only have three drives 1.5 TB from my operating system and for additional storage, the free agent external drive, and the raid that was originally set up as ext2 I would wipe it and start over but it has 3.9 TB of movies on it
    Last edited by RTIInstaller; October 8th, 2012 at 06:28 AM.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Christchurch, NZ
    Beans
    3,239

    Re: Trying to get my raid to mount on startup Tell me if this is correct?

    Quote Originally Posted by RTIInstaller View Post
    I am sorry nick it is sdc1

    I dont know what /dev/sda5: is I only have three drives 1.5 TB from my operating system and for additional storage, the free agent external drive, and the raid that was originally set up as ext2 I would wipe it and start over but it has 3.9 TB of movies on it
    sda5 is swap, which is place where the OS pages RAM out to when there is not enough physical RAM for all the processes running. It's slower than RAM obviously, but better than crashing out for lack or RAM.

    Now make a place for the drive to mount permanently and

    Code:
    sudo mkdir /mnt/raid
    then edit /etc/fstab to add the following line at the end:

    Code:
    UUID=3d6c407c-1527-4fcf-866f-50384add4c01 /mnt/raid ext2 defaults 0 1
    This should mount the raid drive to /mnt/raid on every boot.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •