Thread: Ubuntu first startup

Hybrid View

Beans

Ubuntu first startup

Hi! I'm new to the Ubuntu Forums and this is my first post so I'm not sure if this is the right category, but I hope you don't mind if it's wrong.
    Now, to the subject:
    I've been running Windows 7 but have made the decision to move to Ubuntu. I used Wubi for downloading and downloading went fine, after downloading, I rebooted and selected Ubuntu as the OS at startup.
    The Ubuntu loading screen showed up, and when loading was done, It was time to login. Now here's the problem.
    I found it hard to move the cursor (very, very, very, laggy) and I couldn't click on anything or type in the password. After trying to type and pressing different keyboard-commands I had no other choice than shutting down (take out the power-cable).
    I've tried startup two times after it, and the same thing is still happening.
    What should I do? A answer would be much appreciated!

EDIT: If you need my system specs, you can find them here: http://http://h20000.www2.hp.com/bizsupport/TechSupport/Document.jsp?objectID=c03029064&lang=en&cc=us&task Id=135&contentType=SupportFAQ&prodSeriesId=5151854 &prodTypeId=12454
    Last edited by DanRex; August 6th, 2012 at 08:46 PM. Reason: Added link to system specs

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

Re: Ubuntu first startup

If you're new then I will skip the virtual console method, simply try installing it from booting CD not from wubi
    It's probably driver problem, if it'll still be the issue you my need to install driver via virtual console, or maybe someone will come up with better solution

Very nice hardware btw
    Last edited by Laiquendi; August 6th, 2012 at 09:21 PM.

Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

Hi ,
    I strongly recommend to remove wubi . Just remove it like you remove a regular program in Windows.
    Make a LiveUsb and boot from there to see Ubuntu's behavior and support , with your hardware.