Thread: General testing advice please.

Hybrid View

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

General testing advice please.

Hi there guys.

I've done a bit of testing before but have decided to become a bit more active in the future.

Now that the updates have started rolling in does anyone have any suggestions as to how my testing can be more productive? I'll be filing bugs on launchpad and doing ISO testing when the time comes around but am wondering if there is any more that I could be doing?

I'm in IT Support / Network Administration by trade but have little programming experience so I'd be OK with some of the more technical stuff, this is really just a shout out for any ideas.

I'll be seeing you all around in this forum more often,

Cheesemill

Beans
    Distro

Re: General testing advice please.

welcome aboard , there will probably be a couple of stickies up soon that will give you some ideas . There are about as many testing styles and methods as there are testers . as the cycle gets going you will get into the feel of it .
    if it ain't broke you haven't tweaked it enough

Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro

We will be starting Testing Days, similar to what Fedora does, targeting specific packages, so stay tuned.

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

Quote Originally Posted by cariboo907 View Post
    We will be starting Testing Days, similar to what Fedora does, targeting specific packages, so stay tuned.
    This sounds like a good idea as it creates focus rather than just randomly trying stuff out. For unity in the PP cycle, the unity test sheets were very good as you ran through a well thought out series of tests.
    Last edited by alphacrucis2; May 1st, 2012 at 03:46 AM.

Beans
    Distro

Has nobody given you this link?

https://wiki.ubuntu.com/U+1

This is what some of us are working on. We, and our wiki, are still under development.