Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: dd if=/dev/cdrom of=/tmp/cdimg1.iso

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Beans
    Hidden!

    Question dd if=/dev/cdrom of=/tmp/cdimg1.iso

    Hi guys, I got a mysterious thing going on here. I'm about to copy my Rollercoaster2 cd to an ISO using dd. I open a terminal and typed umount /dev/cdrom and then dd if=/dev/cdrom of=/tmp/roller2.iso. I get following output:
    dd: reading `/dev/cdrom': Input/output error
    1284832+0 records in
    1284832+0 records out
    657833984 bytes (658 MB) copied, 446.532 s, 1.5 MB/s

    So, what's the Input/Output error? And when I mount the image I got a empty disk with 0 size, still the image is 658Mb???

    Anyone familiar with dd?
    /Thanks

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Bordeaux, France
    Beans
    11,297
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: dd if=/dev/cdrom of=/tmp/cdimg1.iso

    It means that the kernel has trouble reading from the CD, probably a scratched/dirty disc, or maybe a drive failure. As for the mounted image, how are you mounting it?
    「明後日の夕方には帰ってるからね。」


  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Beans
    Hidden!

    Re: dd if=/dev/cdrom of=/tmp/cdimg1.iso

    Quote Originally Posted by Bachstelze View Post
    It means that the kernel has trouble reading from the CD, probably a scratched/dirty disc, or maybe a drive failure. As for the mounted image, how are you mounting it?
    I mount it using Ubuntu's built in Archive mounter. The cd is not scratched btw..

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Beans
    2,930

    Re: dd if=/dev/cdrom of=/tmp/cdimg1.iso

    did the cdrom drive show any activity during the operation?
    Support 7z in default installs!!!: Click Here

    How to use code blocks to post command output: Click Here
    Official Ubuntu Documentation

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Beans
    Hidden!

    Re: dd if=/dev/cdrom of=/tmp/cdimg1.iso

    the cd/dvd drive LED blinks but the hard drive seems not to write that much.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Norfolk, Virginia
    Beans
    56
    Distro
    Kubuntu 11.10 Oneiric Ocelot

    Re: dd if=/dev/cdrom of=/tmp/cdimg1.iso

    Well, one option might be to scrap that image, install ddrescue, and run it.

    dd_rescue /dev/sr0 /tmp/cdimg1.iso

    ... also... it might have worked, if you would have done

    dd if=/dev/sr0 of=/tmp/cdimg1.iso

    You make an image of a directory, not a device... i've never seen anyone do that...

    Edit: Since you said it isn't scratched, I'm sure that's what's wrong. You did a byte copy of a directory, and pushed all of the files into one... not a byte copy of a device with filesystem structure included. Once you do

    dd if=/dev/sr0 of=/tmp/cdimg1.iso

    Mount it as follows
    cd /tmp
    mkdir temp
    mount -o loop cdimg1.iso temp/
    Last edited by darkdragn; June 9th, 2010 at 03:48 PM.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Beans
    Hidden!

    Re: dd if=/dev/cdrom of=/tmp/cdimg1.iso

    Quote Originally Posted by darkdragn View Post
    Well, one option might be to scrap that image, install ddrescue, and run it.

    dd_rescue /dev/sr0 /tmp/cdimg1.iso

    ... also... it might have worked, if you would have done

    dd if=/dev/sr0 of=/tmp/cdimg1.iso

    You make an image of a directory, not a device... i've never seen anyone do that...

    Edit: Since you said it isn't scratched, I'm sure that's what's wrong. You did a byte copy of a directory, and pushed all of the files into one... not a byte copy of a device with filesystem structure included. Once you do

    dd if=/dev/sr0 of=/tmp/cdimg1.iso

    Mount it as follows
    cd /tmp
    mkdir temp
    mount -o loop cdimg1.iso temp/
    This solution works! Wonder why Ubuntu's archive mounter wont work. Anyhow, Thanks=)

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Kubuntu 10.10 Maverick Meerkat

    Re: dd if=/dev/cdrom of=/tmp/cdimg1.iso

    Yeah, the archive mounter does not work for me either. It does not even open a window. On the other hand, it mounts the iso in $HOME/.gvfs/ - really intuitive.
    Right click the .iso file and use archive manager instead. It works a lot better.

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •