Results 1 to 10 of 68

Thread: Boot LiveCD iso from grub2

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Everywhere
    Beans
    1,529
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Boot LiveCD iso from grub2

    I found an article regarding the loopback feature of Grub2 where by you could boot from an iso. Does anyone know if it's possible, if so how, to do this with the Ubuntu Live CD?
    "Knowledge is power. Who said that?" - Dave Lister

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    United States
    Beans
    2,866
    Distro
    Ubuntu

    Re: Boot LiveCD iso from grub2

    The article you linked to and the one it links to ( http://michael-prokop.at/blog/2009/0...iso-via-grub2/ ) have pretty clear instructions. What part of the process is not working for you?

    I would start by putting your iso in a known (such as boot) location and altering the line from the example from isofrom=/dev/sda1/grml/grml-small_2008.11.iso to isofrom=/dev/sda1/boot/myjaunty.iso (or whatever you called it).

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Everywhere
    Beans
    1,529
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: Boot LiveCD iso from grub2

    Something like this:
    Code:
    menuentry "Ubuntu Jaunty Live CD" {
    loopback loop (hd0,3)/steve/archive/iso/linux/karmic-desktop-amd64.iso
    linux (loop)/casper/vmlinuz isofrom=/dev/sda3/steve/archive/iso/linux/karmic-desktop-amd64.iso root=/dev/sda3 boot=casper quiet splash noprompt
    initrd (loop)/casper/initrd.lz
    }
    ...just drops to a busy box.
    "Knowledge is power. Who said that?" - Dave Lister

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    United States
    Beans
    2,866
    Distro
    Ubuntu

    Re: Boot LiveCD iso from grub2

    Quote Originally Posted by phenest View Post
    Something like this:
    Code:
    menuentry "Ubuntu Jaunty Live CD" {
    loopback loop (hd0,3)/steve/archive/iso/linux/karmic-desktop-amd64.iso
    linux (loop)/casper/vmlinuz isofrom=/dev/sda3/steve/archive/iso/linux/karmic-desktop-amd64.iso root=/dev/sda3 boot=casper quiet splash noprompt
    initrd (loop)/casper/initrd.lz
    }
    ...just drops to a busy box.
    Did you verify the /casper/initrd.lz path and name on the image you are using? It is /casper/initrg.gz on mine. Also, try it without the root directive. How did you arrive at boot=casper? Did you try live?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Everywhere
    Beans
    1,529
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: Boot LiveCD iso from grub2

    On Karmic, it's initrd.lz, whereas it's initrd.gz on Jaunty. I've tried both Jaunty and Karmic with varying different options with no success.

    boot=casper was taken from the boot options for Ubuntu.
    "Knowledge is power. Who said that?" - Dave Lister

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Everywhere
    Beans
    1,529
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: Boot LiveCD iso from grub2

    The best I get is a BusyBox prompt.
    "Knowledge is power. Who said that?" - Dave Lister

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Southern California, USA
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: Boot LiveCD iso from grub2

    Quote Originally Posted by phenest View Post
    I found an article regarding the loopback feature of Grub2 where by you could boot from an iso. Does anyone know if it's possible, if so how, to do this with the Ubuntu Live CD?
    I couldn't find this topic earlier so I opened a new one on this subject. I found out how to boot pmagic using grub2 loopback.
    AMD64 Athlon X2 Dual-Core - nVidia Geforce 6150 SE - 4GB DDR3 | remove_old_kernels

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Delhi, India
    Beans
    485
    Distro
    Ubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

    Re: Boot LiveCD iso from grub2

    The answer is there on Community Docs.

    kagashe
    Ubuntu on Lenovo G50-45 with Secure Boot on
    Linux Registered User #395189
    Ubuntu user number # 345

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: Boot LiveCD iso from grub2

    Quote Originally Posted by kagashe View Post
    The answer is there on Community Docs.

    kagashe
    I also just updated the Grub2 Basics thread here. Not sure why I continue to sync the two, but for now they are.
    GRUB2

    Retired.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •