Results 1 to 10 of 27

Thread: FFmpeg and x11grab?

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Beans
    7,197

    FFmpeg and x11grab?

    Hi,

    Has anyone managed to grab there screen display using FFmpeg and x11grab? I have ransacked the man pages and html docs and the best I have managed is a string of quite varied error messages .

    I am using the current svn FFmpeg.

    Andrew
    You think that's air you're breathing now?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Beans
    7,197

    Re: FFmpeg and x11grab?

    Well I have made a little headway but the encoding parameters need a little work. The following grabs the entire screen for 30 seconds and encodes to x264:

    Code:
    ffmpeg -y -t 30 -f x11grab -qscale 2 -r 15 -s 1024x768 -i :0.0 \
    -s 800x600 -vcodec libx264 -vpre hq -crf 22 -threads 0 x11grab.mp4
    Quality is a little horrible though. Can anybody expand on this a little?

    Andrew

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Beans
    3,589

    Re: FFmpeg and x11grab?

    I'm not very familiar with x11grab, although for quite some time I've been thinking it would make a good FFmpeg guide. Does it look better if you cut out the resizing of the output? What about using a lossless type of codec: ffv1, huffyuv, ffvhuff; vpre lossless_slow, lossless_medium, lossless_fast, lossless_ultrafast? I'm just guessing here.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Beans
    7,197

    Re: FFmpeg and x11grab?

    Hi FakeOutdoorsman,

    Quote Originally Posted by FakeOutdoorsman View Post
    I'm not very familiar with x11grab, although for quite some time I've been thinking it would make a good FFmpeg guide. Does it look better if you cut out the resizing of the output? What about using a lossless type of codec: ffv1, huffyuv, ffvhuff; vpre lossless_slow, lossless_medium, lossless_fast, lossless_ultrafast? I'm just guessing here.
    I suspect the problem seemed to be that I was a little ambitious trying to grab a whole desktop and then play back a big h264 clip . I cut down the size and fiddled the coordinates a little and I have achieved a more acceptable result:

    Code:
    ffmpeg -y -t 5 -f x11grab -r 12 -s 800x600 -i :0.0+75,30 \
    -vcodec libx264 -vpre hq -crf 22 -threads 0 $HOME/Desktop/x11grab.mp4
    I look forward to seeing some FFmpeg guides in this format from you and I am sure with your skill the video will look better than my crude effort .

    Andrew

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    There and back again
    Beans
    1,097

    Re: FFmpeg and x11grab?

    Not bad, seems to do better than recordmydesktop as far as cpu intensity. Still like to see a screencast program that can be moved, follow the mouse... on Linux though.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    CA, US
    Beans
    119
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.04 Lucid Lynx

    Re: FFmpeg and x11grab?

    i'm trying to use x11grab but just get this...


    FFmpeg version SVN-r19369, Copyright (c) 2000-2009 Fabrice Bellard, et al.
    configuration: --enable-gpl --enable-nonfree --enable-pthreads --enable-libfaac --enable-libfaad --enable-libmp3lame --enable-libtheora --enable-libx264 --enable-libxvid --enable-x11grab
    libavutil 50. 3. 0 / 50. 3. 0
    libavcodec 52.32. 0 / 52.32. 0
    libavformat 52.36. 0 / 52.36. 0
    libavdevice 52. 2. 0 / 52. 2. 0
    libswscale 0. 7. 1 / 0. 7. 1
    built on Jul 7 2009 20:59:55, gcc: 4.3.3
    Unknown input or output format: x11grab

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •