PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] [SOLVED] .dmrc



clauswilson
December 1st, 2008, 11:21 AM
I am greeted by every boot with a message saying that the file .dmrc prevents that some settings are stored. The file was completely empty but is now renamed to ._dmrc. What is all this about? I would like to get rid of the "greeting" - running a brand new ubuntu 8.10 but with files copied over from my old kubuntu 8.10 (which I disliked obviously and changed the system)

marshall.robert
December 1st, 2008, 11:38 AM
could you tell us more? or get a screenshot of the error?

kpkeerthi
December 1st, 2008, 12:17 PM
I am greeted by every boot with a message saying that the file .dmrc prevents that some settings are stored. The file was completely empty but is now renamed to ._dmrc. What is all this about? I would like to get rid of the "greeting" - running a brand new ubuntu 8.10 but with files copied over from my old kubuntu 8.10 (which I disliked obviously and changed the system)

Are you asking about the error that says .dmrc and /home/<user> does not have proper permission - 644 for .dmrc and 700 for /home/<user>?

This is how I fixed it yesterday after I installed GDM.

Write the commands in a terminal window.


touch .dmrc



sudo chown 644 .dmrc



sudo chown 700 /home/<user>

* Replace <user> with your login Id.

[More Info (https://answers.launchpad.net/ubuntu/+question/7296)]

clauswilson
December 6th, 2008, 11:44 AM
Thank you for some help. I tried it and I still get this annoying start-up screen. If it could just go straight into the desktop and write this silly things somewhere else. Although I know that this is a problem for storing the language settings.

- Why should 700 own my home directory? Do you mean chmod 700 ?

Nepherte
December 6th, 2008, 12:00 PM
It should be chmod indeed. Check out this page for the ownership & permission settings for .dmrc: https://help.ubuntu.com/community/dmrcErrors

On that same page, https://help.ubuntu.com/community/dmrcErrors#The%20.dmrc%20File, you will also read that the file can be empty indeed or with the specified content (be sure to set the correct language and not simply copy/paste it)

clauswilson
December 6th, 2008, 12:33 PM
Okay now it works! Hurrah! How to I put this subject as solved?

kpkeerthi
December 6th, 2008, 01:25 PM
Okay now it works! Hurrah! How to I put this subject as solved?

Look in the link that reads 'Thread Tools' just above Post# 1