PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Blender 2.48a install trouble

tampablendie
November 30th, 2008, 03:14 AM
I'm trying to install Blender 2.48a. It's not available from synaptics or add/remove(only 2.46 is). So I downloaded the tar.bz2 from Blender.org and extracted the file.

I then double click the Blender executable file and nothing happens. No error no attempt by Ubuntu to do anything??? I've read somewhere that Ubuntu does not have the dependencies for Blender installed???

What does that mean?? How do I install it?

Keep in mind I am an Uber Noob, this is my first day on Ubuntu. Looking forward to blending! ;-)

linuxguymarshall
November 30th, 2008, 03:24 AM
If you give me 5 mins to get out of Fluxbox, load into KDE, get a can of Bawls and download it through my T1 line then I will help you. I need to do it as well

tampablendie
November 30th, 2008, 03:29 AM
thanx man I would really appreciate it

bruce89
November 30th, 2008, 03:33 AM
The tarball (tar.bz2) is just a source archive. You'd have to compile the source. I'm sure someone will post how, as I don't do details.

Anyway, is there any reason why 2.36 won't suffice? People recently from Windows get version fever.

linuxguymarshall
November 30th, 2008, 03:34 AM
Kde hung its self so im back in Fluxbox. downloading the tarball now.

Which version did you get? I dowloaded Python 2.5

linuxguymarshall
November 30th, 2008, 03:36 AM
I just ran it. Opened it up, double click Blender and BAM!

tampablendie
November 30th, 2008, 03:38 AM
I downloaded both and had luck with neither. It says on the blender site and the Ubuntu documentation that after extracting the tar file that you should be able to run blender straight from executable.

bruce89
November 30th, 2008, 03:40 AM
I downloaded both and had luck with neither. It says on the blender site and the Ubuntu documentation that after extracting the tar file that you should be able to run blender straight from executable.