PDA

View Full Version : Compiz broke



phenest
November 28th, 2008, 10:46 AM
After some updates today, I restarted to find AWN complaining of no compositing manager. I've been using Compiz, but now Desktop Effects won't start. So I've fallen back to Metacity.

I haven't looked into this yet, as I have to go to work now, but I have checked the nVidia driver is ok.

klim8
November 28th, 2008, 11:01 AM
You can still use awn with metacity. The steps required to enable compositing in metacity are:

1- press Alt-F2 to open the Run Application dialog and type gconf-editor.
Click Run.
2- Navigate to Apps->metacity->general.
3- Check the compositing_manager box, and Metacity will immediately restart with compositing!

super.rad
November 28th, 2008, 02:10 PM
or just type this in a terminal to enable it

gconftool-2 -s '/apps/metacity/general/compositing_manager' --type bool trueand this if you want to disable it again
gconftool-2 -s '/apps/metacity/general/compositing_manager' --type bool false

phenest
November 28th, 2008, 10:06 PM
Using Metacity is not my problem. Why would Compiz suddenly break?

phenest
November 28th, 2008, 10:59 PM
More updates and Compiz is working again.