PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] server 8.10, lamp, dns nameserver question

thebigkraze
November 28th, 2008, 04:43 AM
I have recently completed the perfect server guide http://www.howtoforge.com/perfect-server-ubuntu-8.10 but have hit a wall since trying to link my domain name thebigkraze.com to my ubuntu server set up. I had the domain name registered at godaddy.com and have since found out how to edit the nameservers for the domain, but don't know what mine would be. I've looked all around and have registered an account with zoneedit for dns management.

I always thought that setting the server up was the hard part, but I just don't know how to connect them i guess. The next question i had was to how to go about actually editing the page. I'm a complete noob with this and have no idea how to take a web site created with frontpage or something and import it into my servers data. Anyways, thanks for any help.

thebigkraze
November 28th, 2008, 09:47 PM
Well i'll try to explain more.. . From what I understand, bind9 is the program responsible for the DNS server. The terminal method get's me slightly confused with the status of my server, but typing the server's ip into my browser get's the "It Works" page, which I assume means nothing more than it's running. After installing MySQL and ISPconfig, I've tried accessing the GUI web page with the server's IP at port 81 but get nothing. I'm not sure if i should disable the SSL or if that's not the problem.

The domain was purchased from godaddy.com, and I have sense found out how to change the domains nameservers. After creating my account at zoneedite, i added the provided nameservers to my domain, and now I get an error page.

thebigkraze
November 28th, 2008, 11:36 PM