PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Ubuntu to Windows XP networking

mollydoggy1971
November 27th, 2008, 02:33 AM
I am very new to Ubuntu, and Linux in general. I have installed the latest Ubuntu over the past weekend. I cannot get it to connect to my Windows network. I have no idea what I am doing in Linux, so please, if you're going to offer me some help, I ask that you make it VERY detailed, step-by-step instruction. I don't know where anything is in Ubuntu, and don't know how to access anything. I have been given a bit of advice on linuxquestions, but I'm not getting anywhere with them, as most of them are not using Ubuntu, so they can't give me specific direction. I do not even know whee to type commands, so if you want me to type commands, please tell me how to do that also.
I have been told to go to Places, Connect to Server. I go there, and change the drop down box to Windows Share. I was told to put in the Server name, and it would find the server. My network's name is MSHOME, and the windows pc name is MAINPC. The shared drive on there is C. So, I put in MSHOME for the server name, and it doesn't work. I put in MSHOME for the server name, and MAINPC for the Share box, and it doesn't work. I also added C to the Folder box, with the same results.
If I go to Places, Network, it gives me an icon that says Windows Network. When I double click it, it shows 0 results.
Any DETAILED help you folks could offer would be greatly appreciated. I'm getting close to deleting Ubuntu and giving up on Linux forever.

Thanks,
Jeff

philetus
November 27th, 2008, 02:41 AM
Hi Jeff,

Install Samba.

Here's a link with everything you need.

http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=202605

mollydoggy1971
November 27th, 2008, 06:18 AM
Hi Jeff,

Install Samba.

Here's a link with everything you need.

http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=202605