PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Connected, but no internet



mlilien
November 27th, 2008, 12:43 AM
I've got a Lenovo t60p with an Atheros AR4518 wireless card. I've had some issues with wireless since upgrading to Intrepid. The main one being that there were some places I had previously (with 8.04 and madwifi drivers) been able to get connected to the internet where I'm no longer able to, even though I have a signal. However, it's not that bad, and I figured that future updates to the driver would fix this.

However, I've come home for Thanksgiving break, and am unable to get on the wireless at home. We have a WEP encrypted network, and it appears that I'm able to connect to the network, but I'm unable to browse the internet/im/etc.

iwconfig gives me this ouput for wlan0:
wlan0 IEEE 802.11abgn ESSID:"Spiderman"
Mode:Managed Frequency:2.437 GHz Access Point: 00:18:39:7B:FC:29
Bit Rate=1 Mb/s Tx-Power=23 dBm
Retry min limit:7 RTS thr: off Fragment thr=2352 B
Power Management: off
Link Quality=57/100 Signal level:-58 dBm Noise level=-95 dBm
Rx invalid nwid:0 Rx invalid crypt:0 Rx invalid frag:0
Tx excessive retries:0 Invalid misc:0 Missed beacon:0

But I'm not knowledgeable enough to get any information from that.

Thanks in advance for any advice or fixes.

doas777
November 27th, 2008, 12:44 AM
I'm not seeing an IP address there. what do you get from

sudo ifconfig

mlilien
November 27th, 2008, 01:02 AM
eth0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:1a:6b:66:dd:40
UP BROADCAST MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
RX bytes:0 (0.0 B) TX bytes:0 (0.0 B)
Memory:ee000000-ee020000

lo Link encap:Local Loopback
inet addr:127.0.0.1 Mask:255.0.0.0
UP LOOPBACK RUNNING MTU:16436 Metric:1
RX packets:276 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:276 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
RX bytes:17821 (17.8 KB) TX bytes:17821 (17.8 KB)

wlan0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:19:7e:56:d4:e5
inet addr:192.168.1.105 Bcast:192.168.1.255 Mask:255.255.255.0
UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:69 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:83 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
RX bytes:30940 (30.9 KB) TX bytes:9777 (9.7 KB)

wmaster0 Link encap:UNSPEC HWaddr 00-19-7E-56-D4-E5-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00
UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
RX bytes:0 (0.0 B) TX bytes:0 (0.0 B)

doas777
November 27th, 2008, 01:04 AM
ok, you have an IP. can you ping your router? also what do you get from

sudo route?

mlilien
November 27th, 2008, 01:12 AM
How would I go about pinging my router?

sudo route gives me:

Kernel IP routing table
Destination Gateway Genmask Flags Metric Ref Use Iface
192.168.1.0 * 255.255.255.0 U 2 0 0 wlan0
link-local * 255.255.0.0 U 1000 0 0 wlan0
default 192.168.1.1 0.0.0.0 UG 0 0 0 wlan0

doas777
November 27th, 2008, 01:21 AM
well it looks like your route is set up fine.

ok, to ping your router, open a terminal and type:


sudo ping 192.168.1.1

(you prolly don't need sudo. I do cause I locked down ping w/ bastille)

if you can ping your router, try this command:


nslookup www.google.com

if you get an error that the name is unknown, then your problem is DNS.

let us know,
franklin

mlilien
November 27th, 2008, 01:36 AM
I was unable to ping the router. I got this message, with seq= 1-93:
From 192.168.1.105 icmp_seq=93 Destination Host Unreachable

and then this, until I killed the process:
ping: sendmsg: No buffer space available