PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Filer Server Additional Harddrives in Raid 1 for /Data

sam702
November 25th, 2008, 12:45 AM
Hello Ubuntu Server Gurus,

I know "search" is my friend. But because I'm a noob to Ubuntu Ibex and Linux in general, I don't know how to properly phrase the questions for the answer.

So here is my situation...

I have an Ibex 8.10 AMD64 Server running with Samba on a Raid 1 setup. I have two (2) physical 300G sata harddrives, and through the Ubuntu installation I accepted the raid setup. My setup is primarily for a file server. I made 3 partitions on the Raid 1 for the root, swap, and home directories. I can network and share files with my other window platforms with proper permissions and users setup. This is a headless file server, and it is quite nice so far. Thank you Ubuntu and Samba!

Now here is what I would like to do...

Install 2 more physical harddrives, set it to Raid 1, make 3 partitions and mounted them to /projects, /archives, and /administration, respectively. These are locations where all data are stored/shared. These are the directories that I will regularly back-up to an external USB drive.

I installed mdadm with the sudo apt-install mdadm. I made a gparted live CD. I installed the two (3) physical drives.

Questions-

Where and when do I use gparted, mdadm, and what are the line commands?

Please include step-by-step and command syntax.

Also, if you do sent script or conf files, please send them in txt format so I can use windows to read them at this time. I am slowly weening away from windows:)

Thank you much.

fjgaude
November 25th, 2008, 04:23 PM
It would be better for you to learn all the things necessary to handle what you wish to do... but here's how to get started:

While booted into Ubuntu do all these things:

sudo fdisk -l

That will show the names of the drives you have in your system.

Now using gparted partition each drive identically into the three pieces you wish.

Now use mdadm to make three arrays: