PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] error messege question



nu2this2
November 24th, 2008, 03:46 PM
This appeared when I tried to update today. What can I do?


93968

marufaberlin
November 24th, 2008, 03:48 PM
hmm do what it says. run dpkg --configure -a

sydbat
November 24th, 2008, 03:49 PM
Open a terminal (Applications > Accessories > Terminal) and run the command stated (dpkg --configure -a ).

marufaberlin
November 24th, 2008, 03:49 PM
but you will need to put sudo in front.

jakupl
November 24th, 2008, 03:52 PM
To put it all together.

go to Applications --> Accessories ---> Terminal

write


sudo dpkg --configure -a

nu2this2
November 24th, 2008, 04:05 PM
Thanks,

Very new at this. This is what I got :confused::confused:

ken@ken-laptop:~$ sudo dpkg --configure -a
[sudo] password for ken:
Setting up java-common (0.28ubuntu3) ...

ken@ken-laptop:~$


To put it all together.

go to Applications --> Accessories ---> Terminal

write


sudo dpkg --configure -a

sydbat
November 24th, 2008, 04:06 PM
Now try your updates and see if you get the error again or if the updates proceed. Please let us know.

nu2this2
November 24th, 2008, 04:17 PM
Thanks again,

We're making progress but now I get the messege "You have one broken packet on your system. Use the "Broken" filter to locate it.

Unfortunately I don't know how to do that.

sydbat
November 24th, 2008, 04:21 PM
Open Synaptic (System > Administration > Synaptic Package Manager - you will be asked for your password) and choose Custom Filters on the lower left side. This will show those filters in the left pane...the top one being Broken. The rest should be pretty self explanatory.

jakupl
November 24th, 2008, 04:21 PM
Thanks again,

We're making progress but now I get the messege "You have one broken packet on your system. Use the "Broken" filter to locate it.

Unfortunately I don't know how to do that.

Goto System --> Administration --> Synaptic Package Manager

enter your password,

press "custom filters" at the lower left corner and press the "broken" segment.

Now i think you should probably try to remove or reinstall the broken packages.

EDIT: oooohh snap!

nu2this2
November 24th, 2008, 04:38 PM
Thank you to everyone!! This is truly a great forum and I really appreciate your help.

Somehow the problem is solved and I am up to date.

I did find the broken filter,(thanks to all of you)and when I cliked it, nothing appeared--------------so I guess the problem has been rectified.

Thank you again.

sydbat
November 24th, 2008, 05:08 PM
You're welcome. If you feel this problem is solved, please use the 'Thread Tools' to mark this thread "Solved".