PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] r u close to Uni of Sydney? willing to meet up & help install a software??

oziekhan
November 24th, 2008, 03:05 PM
Hi

I am a student at Uni of Sydney Australia. I have just switched over to ubuntu. I need to install a small educational software on my system....it is called cmap (concept map)..it is a free software for creating a pictorial representation of ideas and concepts (available at cmap.ihmc.us)... it is an .exe file and the download site says that it is for linux.. but I cant install it.

Is there anyone out there in Sydney who can help me with that.... if you want I can come over to your place.

please PM me.

Thanks

Amer Khan
PhD Student
Uni of Sydney

eldragon
November 24th, 2008, 03:25 PM
did you follow this link? http://cmap.ihmc.us/download/installs/CmapTools/Linux/LinuxCmapTools_v4.18_06-09-08.zip

its clearly a zip file, im downloading it right now to see whats inside.. and maybe give some instructions to follow..

oziekhan
November 24th, 2008, 03:29 PM
did you follow this link? http://cmap.ihmc.us/download/installs/CmapTools/Linux/LinuxCmapTools_v4.18_06-09-08.zip

its clearly a zip file, im downloading it right now to see whats inside.. and maybe give some instructions to follow..

Thanks eldragon for your help. yes it is a zip file and it is just sitting there on my desktop refusing to budge!!! I tried to open it using the synoptic manager etc. but it refuses to acknowledge the file!!

Cheers

Sef
November 24th, 2008, 03:31 PM
Check out How to Install Anything in Ubuntu (http://amitech.50webs.com/installing/index.php.html).

eldragon
November 24th, 2008, 03:48 PM
unpack the zip

you will see a .bin file.

right click and select properties.

check the permissions tab, and check the allow executing this file checkbox.

its probably an installer.

good luck

arochester
November 24th, 2008, 04:05 PM