PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Ubuntu and XP and Wine security

Crow550
November 24th, 2008, 11:21 AM
Is an anti virus and software firewall and spyware and such needed in Ubuntu?

I have XP setup with those on another partition, but is there any risks when running Ubuntu? I know Ubuntu closes all open ports so a firewall isn't needed? Right? and I haven't heard of anyone getting or spreading viruses or other nasties through Ubuntu. Can a virus live in Ubuntu and then attack an NTFS partition or Wine programs / games?

I installed Ubuntu 8.10 on my friends laptop, whom would always get XP infected with spyware and viruses somehow. He also connects to whatever hotspot is available.

Any additional security measure I should add? Like a VPN.

He prefers tasks as simple as possible and is a total noob. You know Keep It Simple Stupid.

lakersforce
November 24th, 2008, 11:24 AM
Anti Virus could be a good idea if you are sending emails to Windows users (so that you don't accidental send them malware). Firewall is always a good idea!

GSF1200S
November 24th, 2008, 11:43 AM

I have XP setup with those on another partition, but is there any risks when running Ubuntu? I know Ubuntu closes all open ports so a firewall isn't needed? Right? and I haven't heard of anyone getting or spreading viruses or other nasties through Ubuntu. Can a virus live in Ubuntu and then attack an NTFS partition or Wine programs / games?

I installed Ubuntu 8.10 on my friends laptop, whom would always get XP infected with spyware and viruses somehow. He also connects to whatever hotspot is available.

He prefers tasks as simple as possible and is a total noob. You know Keep It Simple Stupid.

Alot depends on your current setup. Yes, you can spread a virus to XP from Ubuntu, utilizing ntfs-3g. Thats to say, if you download a virus on Ubuntu, it will not hurt Ubuntu, but if its later moved to your XP partition and XP executes it, than it will be infected.