PDA

View Full Version : HOWTO: Run Pro/Engineer WF 3.0 on Ubuntu 8.10

hambone79
November 22nd, 2008, 07:10 PM
I'm writing this tutorial so that people can benefit from my experiences with setting up WF 3.0 on a HP xw4600 running Ubuntu 8.10. I work as a mechanical design engineer and CAD administrator, and I have been working on getting WF 3.0 running smoothly on Ubuntu for a few days now. After alot of Googling for answers and figuring out things on my own, I have finally come up with a solution that should work for everyone.

Getting Started

Before you can install Pro/E from CD or from the packages downloaded from PTC, you need to prep a few things on your system. First of all, you need to make sure that your graphics card is setup properly and that OpenGL is working. This is beyond the scope of this tutorial, so please check out the following links for more info:

Using Nvidia Binary Drivers (https://help.ubuntu.com/community/BinaryDriverHowto/Nvidia)
Using ATI Binary Drivers (https://help.ubuntu.com/community/BinaryDriverHowto/ATI)

After you have OpenGL up and running, you need to install a few package so that you can run the Pro/E setup program. On my system I needed to install csh, libmotif3, libstdc++5, and portmap:

sudo apt-get install csh libmotif3 libstdc++5 portmap

Now you should be able to run the installer without any problems.

Running the Setup

You have two options for installing Pro/E: CD or online installer. it doesn't matter which one you use, just find the setup script and run it:

cd /path/to/proe
./setup