PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] [SOLVED] Finalizing RAID 1



victorbrca
November 22nd, 2008, 06:16 AM
Hi all,

I was having some weird GRUB problem when installing my server and I ddn't pay attention when setting up my two RAID drives.

It's partially set, looks like waiting for the md device and a mount point. Anyone have any tips on what I should do from here?


$ sudo fdisk -l

Disk /dev/sda: 500.1 GB, 500107862016 bytes
255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 60801 cylinders
Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes
Disk identifier: 0x000afe7a

Device Boot Start End Blocks Id System
/dev/sda1 * 1 60802 488386552+ fd Linux raid autodetect

Disk /dev/sdb: 500.1 GB, 500107862016 bytes
255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 60801 cylinders
Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes
Disk identifier: 0x000b2bde

Device Boot Start End Blocks Id System
/dev/sdb1 1 60802 488386552+ fd Linux raid autodetect

Disk /dev/sdc: 250.0 GB, 250059350016 bytes
255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 30401 cylinders
Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes
Disk identifier: 0xd7a4d7a4

Device Boot Start End Blocks Id System
/dev/sdc1 * 1 1824 14651248+ 83 Linux
/dev/sdc2 1825 2067 1951897+ 82 Linux swap / Solaris
/dev/sdc3 2068 14225 97659135 83 Linux
/dev/sdc4 14226 30401 129933720 83 Linux
victor@enterprise:~$ sudo mdadm --create --verbose --auto=yes /dev/md0 --level=1 --raid-devices=2 /dev/sda1 /dev/sdb1
mdadm: /dev/sda1 appears to be part of a raid array:
level=raid1 devices=2 ctime=Sun Nov 16 23:44:20 2008
mdadm: /dev/sdb1 appears to be part of a raid array:
level=raid1 devices=2 ctime=Sun Nov 16 23:44:20 2008
mdadm: size set to 488386432K
Continue creating array? no
mdadm: create aborted.

Thanks!!

Vic.

fjgaude
November 22nd, 2008, 05:07 PM
You are booting from sdc1?

There is nothing wrong with answering "yes" to continue creating the array.

Unless you have important data on either sda1 or sdb1

I take it data on is on sdc1 and you might have copied it to sda1?

Create the raid1, put a filesystem on it, then mount and copy important data to it.

Let us know if you have any problems.

victorbrca
November 23rd, 2008, 12:21 AM
Thanks Frank. I ended up doing that yesterday night a bit after I posted it here. Got back to it this morning and the sync was done. Ran mkfs and added it to my fstab.

I'll be storing my virtual machines in there!!


Vic.