PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] How do I format an External USB HD?

joelw1351
November 19th, 2008, 08:53 PM
I need instructions to formating an External USB HD.

taurus
November 19th, 2008, 09:00 PM
Install gparted and use it to format your external harddrive. What kind of filesystem you want to format it to?

sudo apt-get update
sudo apt-get install gparted
gksudo gparted

joelw1351
November 19th, 2008, 09:04 PM
Install gparted and use it to format your external harddrive. What kind of filesystem you want to format it to?

sudo apt-get update
sudo apt-get install gparted
gksudo gparted

I want the drive read/write from my iMac. This is my first time on Linux and my second week on the iMac. So I need help.

notwen
November 19th, 2008, 09:42 PM
I would recommend FAT32 although you won't be able to store files larger than 4GB on a FAT32 file system. FAT32 however should show up on both Linux(Ubuntu) and OSX w/o any additional work. Hope this helps. =]

joelw1351
November 19th, 2008, 10:52 PM
I would recommend FAT32 although you won't be able to store files larger than 4GB on a FAT32 file system. FAT32 however should show up on both Linux(Ubuntu) and OSX w/o any additional work. Hope this helps. =]

I tried to get gparted to work, but I am at a total loss on how to do this. This is my first day on Linux and my second week on Mac so I am a novice.

00b00nt00
November 20th, 2008, 09:07 AM
I'm doing this from memory, because I only have my Mac handy at the moment, but...

1) Insert your USB HD.

2) Go into gparted.

3) Right mouse button on the USB HD and select the option to un-mount it (I'm assuming it is mounted).

4) (WARNING - THIS PART DESTROYS EVERYTHING ON THE DISK!!!) Right mouse button on the USB HD again and select the option for format - fat32)

5) Wait.

That's it.

notwen
November 20th, 2008, 03:21 PM
I tried to get gparted to work, but I am at a total loss on how to do this. This is my first day on Linux and my second week on Mac so I am a novice.