PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] No kde!



steigerjb
November 19th, 2008, 02:23 AM
I have a laptop with xubuntu on it. I don't like the desktop environment on it. I think the default is KDE on xubuntu right? Is it possible to have the desktop set up the way ubuntu is? (with the applications, places and system on the taskbar) Xubuntu has the start menu like windows, yuck!

hardyn
November 19th, 2008, 02:41 AM
Ubuntu = Gnome
Kubuntu = KDE
Xubuntu = XFCE

There probably is some way to change the tool bars on XFCE, but i have not really played with it much at all. What is the spec of your notebook? can you not just run ubuntu? or at least add the gnome package?

benhur99ph
November 19th, 2008, 03:53 AM
Dude, if you don't like the way that the default xfce desktop looks... why not install some themes? compiz? screenlets? docks?

For themes, checkthis site right here ---- > http://www.xfce-look.org/

kerry_s
November 19th, 2008, 04:07 AM
I have a laptop with xubuntu on it. I don't like the desktop environment on it. I think the default is KDE on xubuntu right? Is it possible to have the desktop set up the way ubuntu is? (with the applications, places and system on the taskbar) Xubuntu has the start menu like windows, yuck!

i can't believe you don't even know what your using. [-X

right click on the panel and select new panel, put it on the top, right click on what ever you want to move to it and select move, use the add if you need to add other applets launchers.

if you just want gnome, in a terminal> sudo apt-get install ubuntu-desktop
log out, select gnome and log back in.

steigerjb
November 21st, 2008, 01:01 AM
kerry_s,

this xubuntu isn't my computer. it a computer i am fixing up.

I have Ubuntu on my computer but the computer I am fixing doesn't have enough memory for xubuntu

i'll try the sudo apt-get install ubuntu-desktop when i get a wireless card.

kerry_s
November 21st, 2008, 02:05 AM
kerry_s,

this xubuntu isn't my computer. it a computer i am fixing up.

I have Ubuntu on my computer but the computer I am fixing doesn't have enough memory for xubuntu

i'll try the sudo apt-get install ubuntu-desktop when i get a wireless card.

how much memory does it have?

if you don't have enough for xubuntu, it's not going to run ubuntu gnome.

your best bet would probably be a custom install using a light window manager and programs.

i run a custom debian lenny on 450mhz 256mb ram, using jwm for the window manager, rox-filer for file manager, leafpad for text, abiword for doc's, pptview for ppt's, mtpaint for messing with images, gpicview to view pic's, etc..
firefox/iceweasel is the most heaviest thing i run.

if you pick carefully, the system can be light, fast and useful.
mine is anyways. :)

steigerjb
November 21st, 2008, 04:59 PM
it has 190mb ram

aysiu
November 21st, 2008, 06:17 PM
it has 190mb ram
I'd advise IceWM for that.

Here's a little guide for how to get that set up:
http://www.psychocats.net/ubuntu/icewm

jis
November 27th, 2008, 10:33 AM
aysiu, does IceWM add your applications to menu automatically?

There is also LXDE (http://lxde.org/) that is used by U-ite (http://u-lite.org/) that is currently based on ubuntu Hurdy (8.04) packages.

steigerjb
November 7th, 2009, 07:18 PM
added ram and installed ubuntu